Gaming Re my console's region and Mario's.

test84

GBAtemp's last ninja 2.
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
3,698
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Iran, Tehran.
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
1,244
Country
Iran
Hi,

1) I bought my console from Dubai and it's labled as U.A.E., so which region is it considered, PAL?
2) I wanted to buy Super Mario 3D Land second handed and the seller is not sure about it's region and I've heard it's region free, is that right? Does it work with my console?

tnx!

p.s. :tpi:
 

BoxmanWTF

♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫
Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
1,153
Trophies
1
Age
26
Location
Behind you
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
492
Country
Canada
1)UAE is NTSC-U
everything in the gulf region is usually NTSC-U, if you want to buy PAL it's more expensive.

If you're really not sure, go to system settings and look at the firmware number, if it ends in U then it's NTSC-U
You can see the firmware number on the top screen in this picture Ver. 1.0.0-0U
mac02.png


2) Ask him to look at the game card, if the last three characters say USA it's NTSC-U, and if it says EUR then it's PAL

Here's the section I'm talking about in the bottom right corner
ab41f.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: 3 people

Fyrus

Artilleur Carmin
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
905
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
Marseille - France
XP
1,959
Country
France
Aren't NTSC and PAL TV-signals only though ? Those aren't applicable to a handheld, as far as I know ...
3DS is region locked, it won't play games from other regions.

I know that, I am just wondering if it is right to call handheld games as PAL or NTSC though ...
 
  • Like
Reactions: 2 people

PriMieon

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2010
Messages
131
Trophies
1
Age
26
Location
littleroot town
XP
754
Country
Germany
Hi,

1) I bought my console from Dubai and it's labled as U.A.E., so which region is it considered, PAL?
2) I wanted to buy Super Mario 3D Land second handed and the seller is not sure about it's region and I've heard it's region free, is that right? Does it work with my console?

tnx!

p.s. :tpi:
look on the back of the console...
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

BoxmanWTF

♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫
Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
1,153
Trophies
1
Age
26
Location
Behind you
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
492
Country
Canada
Aren't NTSC and PAL TV-signals only though ? Those aren't applicable to a handheld, as far as I know ...
well it's not correct, but it's acceptable to refer to handhelds like that. No one really has issues with it.(Okay, maybe quite a few people do, but they'll get what you mean.)
Also handhelds in Latin america are USA region locked, but they're sold in latin america, so people prefer saying NTSC-U instead of USA.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 2 people

test84

GBAtemp's last ninja 2.
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
3,698
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Iran, Tehran.
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
1,244
Country
Iran
Thanks y'all guys.

I checked the settings menu and it ends with U, so it's safe to assume that my console is NTSC-U, right?

And I checked my Zelda's cart, it says this on it's bottom right corner: LNA-CTR-AQEE-MDE, so it's Middle East, right? (Based on MDE part).

It's strange that console is NTSC-U because it's charger is 220v and XBOX360 consoles that are sold as PAL region are their adapters on 220v.

After all, I have to buy a NTSC-U mario, right? And there is no "free region" mario, right? I can swear I read it somewhere that SM3L is free region.
 

Sicklyboy

#JOYCONBOYZFOREVER
Global Moderator
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
6,272
Trophies
2
Location
[̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
XP
7,206
Country
United States
Aren't NTSC and PAL TV-signals only though ? Those aren't applicable to a handheld, as far as I know ...

Yeah, they are. And people can't seem to get it through their heads that they're ONLY TV signals. They have zero application to handhelds whatsoever.

A NTSC-U 3DS does not, nor will one ever exist. A USA one does, however.


Know what, I am just gonna leave this thread instead of trying to prove people wrong. Believe what ya want, even if it's wrong.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

BoxmanWTF

♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫
Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
1,153
Trophies
1
Age
26
Location
Behind you
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
492
Country
Canada
Thanks y'all guys.

I checked the settings menu and it ends with U, so it's safe to assume that my console is NTSC-U, right? Yes

And I checked my Zelda's cart, it says this on it's bottom right corner: LNA-CTR-AQEE-MDE, so it's Middle East, right? (Based on MDE part). Yep, I've played some of my friends games that they bought here on my 3ds from canada, so MDE/USA is the same

It's strange that console is NTSC-U because it's charger is 220v and XBOX360 consoles that are sold as PAL region are their adapters on 220v. It's Just more common to sell 220v charger in the middle east, than a 110v. You have nothing to worry about.

After all, I have to buy a NTSC-U mario, right? And there is no "free region" mario, right? I can swear I read it somewhere that SM3L is free region. The only things that are region free on the 3DS are DS games, if you read the instruction manual it will tell you that.
:yay:
Enjoy SM3DL!
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

bowser

Mwa ha ha ha!
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2008
Messages
2,377
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
XP
2,534
Country
India
Thanks y'all guys.

I checked the settings menu and it ends with U, so it's safe to assume that my console is NTSC-U, right?

And I checked my Zelda's cart, it says this on it's bottom right corner: LNA-CTR-AQEE-MDE, so it's Middle East, right? (Based on MDE part).

It's strange that console is NTSC-U because it's charger is 220v and XBOX360 consoles that are sold as PAL region are their adapters on 220v.

After all, I have to buy a NTSC-U mario, right? And there is no "free region" mario, right? I can swear I read it somewhere that SM3L is free region.

Actually it's not strange at all. That's the reason why it's specially labeled as UAE, because it comes with a US region console but a 220V charger instead of the standard 110V.

My DSi is from Singapore (region labeled as ASI) and it's a US console with a 220V charger.

And there's no way EVER that Super Mario 3D Land will be region free. Unless the 3DS gets hacked :P
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://nypost.com/2022/12/02/putin-fell-down-stairs-soiled-himself-amid-health-woes-report/