Hacking [RCM Payload] Hekate - CTCaer mod

Adran_Marit

Walküre's Hacker
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
3,118
Trophies
1
Location
42*South
XP
3,077
Country
Australia
Love you guys all!

Wanna ask you humble, does Hekate 5.6.0 supports the new Atmosphere 1.0.0-pre?

not sure if hekate has been updated yet but I seem to recall Scires did testing with hekate pointing to the new stuff

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

not sure if hekate has been updated yet but I seem to recall Scires did testing with hekate pointing to the new stuff

From discord last night, I'm under the assumption it will with the following config, until hekate updates
upload_2021-9-7_13-36-31.png
 

Krude

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 18, 2013
Messages
344
Trophies
0
XP
1,161
Country
Gambia, The
You can always boot stock without atmosphère. Also in the past.
Wrong. You needed atmosphere to boot stock on FWs 7+ because of TSEC boot, which is why the hekate .ini template for booting stock looked like this:

[Stock]
fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
stock=1
emummc_force_disable=1

# This disables kernel patching and CFW kips.
# Includes exosphere and warmboot, ONLY when >= 7.0.0 and Erista.
# Includes exosphere on Mariko.
# Exosphere/warmboot are not identifiable as it is now.
# This is the closest to OFW, especially when AutoRCM is needed.


The question is, can we now just simply put "stock=1" for all firmwares and expect it to work flawlessly? Or do we still need atmo exosphere on higher ones?
 
  • Like
Reactions: MUDD_BR

MassiveRican

GBATemp's Unofficial Vigilante
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
2,453
Trophies
0
Location
Creeping in the Shadows
XP
1,152
Country
Hi everyone, I recently updated to AMS 1.1.1 and Hekate v.5.6.3/Nyx v.10.8 and updated my Sys/emuNAND to 13.0.0, did a clean install but not sure where I'm going wrong here. So far I can go into emuNAND no prob but reboot 2 payload just restarts atmosphere which loads up my emuNAND. Sorry if the question has been asked 1000x, is there something I'm missing here? I already tried rename the latest hekate.bin file to reboot_payload.bin and that I think just makes it boot to a blackscreen after I choose reboot to payload.

Here's my hekate_ipl.bin

[config]
autoboot=0
autoboot_list=0
bootwait=3
backlight=98
autohosoff=0
autonogc=1
updater2p=0
bootprotect=0

[EmuNAND]
payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee.bin
icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp

[Stock SysNAND]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
stock=1
emummc_force_disable=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_switch.bmp
 

drgnslayers

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
193
Trophies
0
XP
1,133
Country
Canada
Hi everyone, I recently updated to AMS 1.1.1 and Hekate v.5.6.3/Nyx v.10.8 and updated my Sys/emuNAND to 13.0.0, did a clean install but not sure where I'm going wrong here. So far I can go into emuNAND no prob but reboot 2 payload just restarts atmosphere which loads up my emuNAND. Sorry if the question has been asked 1000x, is there something I'm missing here? I already tried rename the latest hekate.bin file to reboot_payload.bin and that I think just makes it boot to a blackscreen after I choose reboot to payload.

Here's my hekate_ipl.bin

[config]
autoboot=0
autoboot_list=0
bootwait=3
backlight=98
autohosoff=0
autonogc=1
updater2p=0
bootprotect=0

[EmuNAND]
payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee.bin
icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp

[Stock SysNAND]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
stock=1
emummc_force_disable=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_switch.bmp
Look there: https://rentry.org/MigrateToAtmosphere1_0_0 It does work
 
  • Like
Reactions: MassiveRican

clasnas

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
15
Trophies
0
XP
24
Country
United States
# Exosphere/warmboot are not identifiable as it is now.

Is there an explanation as to why this is the case? I'm considering using autoRCM and use hekate to boot into sysNAND with OFW, but Im worried of increasing my ban risk.
 

BaamAlex

S̶̥͝l̷̹̀͗e̶̼̖̩̅͊e̷̛̦͉̦p̷̘͌͝i̵͇̠̞̿̌n̷̰͚͌̓͝g̷̦̲̍̆͝
Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
4,102
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
3,381
Country
Germany
# Exosphere/warmboot are not identifiable as it is now.

Is there an explanation as to why this is the case? I'm considering using autoRCM and use hekate to boot into sysNAND with OFW, but Im worried of increasing my ban risk.
Banned for using autorcm? I would say that's unlikely. I mean, they could detect that... technically. Because the boot partition is corrupted iirc. But i never heard from autorcm usage related bans. Using nsps, cheating online is very ban risky.
 

clasnas

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
15
Trophies
0
XP
24
Country
United States
Banned for using autorcm? I would say that's unlikely. I mean, they could detect that... technically. Because the boot partition is corrupted iirc. But i never heard from autorcm usage related bans. Using nsps, cheating online is very ban risky.
I'm not too worried about autoRCM, its about the use of Atmpspheres exosphere and warmboot to boot OFW. I've read its undetectable, but I'd like to see some documentation if available.
 

ZachyCatGames

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
3,261
Trophies
1
Location
Hell
XP
3,311
Country
United States
I'm not too worried about autoRCM, its about the use of Atmpspheres exosphere and warmboot to boot OFW. I've read its undetectable, but I'd like to see some documentation if available.
There's 0 telemetry in that area and the only way they could really detect it from userspace is by calling ams smcs, which would cause a panic on stock firmware.
 
  • Like
Reactions: clasnas
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Spoon