Hooya

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Just wanted to see what peeps here on the board thought of my soldering. Keep in mind I just started practicing about a week ago.

Picture, 769KB

I included the little ruler so you could see the proportions I was dealing with. This was done on an old PCI soundcard (soundblaster Live that I've had since 2000 if anyone is curious). The wires are from an IDE cable. I used a 30w iron with a tiny tip and .032 solder. The bottommost point was one I decided to do at the last minute so I didn't tin the point properly. All the wires hold securely to a pretty strong tug. I tried to find a place on the card that had the closest points to give myself the greatest challenge and most accurately approximate what I'll run into on a Wii modchip install.

The one thing I'm having issue with is the insulation from the wires melting back no matter what... I've tried using a heatsink but with it clamped on there I can't control the wires as well on the board when I make the connection. As long as I make sure they don't touch anything it won't do anything bad, right? I mean, it's not up to NASA spec, but whatever. I still have about two months before I get my Wii, so I still have lots of time to improve.

Scorpei

Trophies
Website
scorpei.com
XP
Country
Netherlands
Just wanted to see what peeps here on the board thought of my soldering. Keep in mind I just started practicing about a week ago.

Picture, 769KB
The one thing I'm having issue with is the insulation from the wires melting back no matter what... I've tried using a heatsink but with it clamped on there I can't control the wires as well on the board when I make the connection. As long as I make sure they don't touch anything it won't do anything bad, right? I mean, it's not up to NASA spec, but whatever. I still have about two months before I get my Wii, so I still have lots of time to improve.
Just use tape around the parts where you burned of the insulation