Random Freezing.

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Man18, Apr 12, 2008.

Apr 12, 2008

Random Freezing. by Man18 at 5:51 AM (1,093 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Man18
    OP

    Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    It froze twice today. Been slowly dieing it seems. Not sure if it was the card its self but it only happened since I threw on Teen Zombies, Jetex and the new R4 code list. Not sure what the problem is. im thinking the micro sd card is crapping out. Anyone know anything?
     
  2. sonic209

    Member sonic209 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    United States
    Well how long have you had it and have you ever dropped it
     
  3. Man18
    OP

    Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Never been dropped. Had it for nearly a year. It has about 500mb left of space on the MSD card. It started working when I deleted the 4.11 cheat.dat so im not quite sure whats going on.
     
  4. ZPE

    Member ZPE GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you try to download the fixed DS_Menu thing?
     
  5. Man18
    OP

    Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    no. I am using the R4DS orig firmware. (although I did patch it with the r4bugfix)

    I think its the msd card. Been using it a lot. It is a cheapo that came with it. It seems it writes slow when I transfer a file and doesnt always show up on when I plug it into my PC. This will be tested when I get my 256 mb msd from my cell.
     
  6. Man18
    OP

    Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Mod PLEASE CLOSE.

    [​IMG]

    DS Lite slot is 2 big. It wasnt pushing against the pins well enough. Works every time in my Phat.
    [​IMG]
    Still buying an Acecard RPG and a big mds though. [​IMG]
     
  7. arsehat

    Member arsehat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Australia
    Shim it. One screw, three minutes with a craft knife and some thin card, and you're set. This is a known issue, and easily fixed.
     
  8. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    The slots are the same size. Or at least they should be. And if it is too big, what's the point in an AceKard 2 if the pins on that won't make contact either? I say get Nintendo to fix it or get a new DS.
     
  9. Man18
    OP

    Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Plan to trade it in for a cobalt/black one soon.

    the one on my red/black is actually a tad bit bigger than my old ds. (using a crappy caliper so im not 100% at this point) but it is a tighter fit on the old ds when I can drop the r4 in on the lite when I have to actually push the r4 into the old ds ( before the spring you have to push not all the way down to the pins)
     

Share This Page