R4IDS Gold Deluxe double issue - an error has occured - please help

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by MrAshen, Jul 20, 2014.

  1. MrAshen
    OP

    MrAshen Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jul 20, 2014
    Gambia, The
    Hi guys,

    here is what happened.

    I updated the R4IDs to firmware 4.0B2 on my 3DSXL 4.3.0-10E, entered the "special mode" and tried to update the firmware from there. I received an update failed and after rebooting I could not enter the "special mode" anymore, it just showed up "an error occured".

    I tried formatting all SD cards and also the 3DS to start over again. Now my blue card also has the "an error occured" and I cannot enter the wood patcher mode (The Konami game symbol is displayed, but I cannot get further. I assume this is due to the patch R4iGold3DS_V144_Patch_NDSi.nds I applied in my desperation to fix the problem instead of R4iGold3DS_V144_Patch_NDSL.nds?).

    Please help! :hateit:
     
  2. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    gamesquest1 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    14,161
    9,518
    Sep 23, 2013
    There is no "special mode"(emunand) with R4 4.0B2 you just updated your 3ds........
     
  3. MrAshen
    OP

    MrAshen Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jul 20, 2014
    Gambia, The
    Well it is still telling me that I have version 4.3.0
     
  4. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    gamesquest1 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    14,161
    9,518
    Sep 23, 2013
    If a update fails the system version stays the same.......but it does partially update, look if you have the miiverse icon on your home screen
     
  5. MrAshen
    OP

    MrAshen Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jul 20, 2014
    Gambia, The
    Yup, the Miiverse icon is there.
     
  6. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    gamesquest1 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    14,161
    9,518
    Sep 23, 2013
    Your partially updated, only way to get it working involves soldering the nand mod to it and it requires a valid nand backup from before you updated
     
  7. MrAshen
    OP

    MrAshen Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jul 20, 2014
    Gambia, The
    Why the hell was I thinking that it was save to update the firmware in the special mode?!
     
  8. masterzero

    masterzero GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    610
    102
    Apr 20, 2007
    I dunno . Even if they removed emunand you had to known you needed to make an emunand active first and read GW or R43ds in this case near the version in the settings..
     
  9. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    gamesquest1 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    14,161
    9,518
    Sep 23, 2013
    No that's only with emunand, R4 removed emunand a while back

    Also currently updating emunand is not possible for any cards anyway due to new encryption in 8.0
     
  10. MrAshen
    OP

    MrAshen Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jul 20, 2014
    Gambia, The
    ok I was not aware of that... so I made a terrible mistake...
     
  11. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    gamesquest1 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    14,161
    9,518
    Sep 23, 2013
    Yep, did you happen to get a nand dump from the console before this happened?
     
  12. MrAshen
    OP

    MrAshen Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jul 20, 2014
    Gambia, The
    Hm, I did a dump some time ago but I'm afraid I cannot find the file anymore.
     
  13. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    gamesquest1 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    14,161
    9,518
    Sep 23, 2013
    Better get searching, try nand.bin hopefully you find it
     
  14. MrAshen
    OP

    MrAshen Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jul 20, 2014
    Gambia, The
    ok, with that I'll need a hard mod as soft mod's won't work?
     
  15. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    gamesquest1 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    14,161
    9,518
    Sep 23, 2013
    Yeah hardware mod only to downgrade
     
  16. MrAshen
    OP

    MrAshen Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jul 20, 2014
    Gambia, The
    Thanks for all your replies, will try the hard mod.

    How will I be able to unbrick my R4 Blue card?
     
  17. GorTesK

    GorTesK Mad Hatter

    Member
    1,101
    501
    Jan 29, 2013
    Gambia, The
    Down The Rabbit Hole
    thank you for going completely off topic and not answering to the OPs question even remotely


    to OP:
    sadly there is nothing much to add from me here, find your backup, find someone to do the soldering, there is no other option right now

    edit: you dont need to unbrick the r4 card, it is probably totally fine, you just need to downgrade the 3ds
     
  18. MrAshen
    OP

    MrAshen Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jul 20, 2014
    Gambia, The
    Well it was actually working also after the partial update. then I applied the patch to the blue card.
     
  19. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    gamesquest1 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    14,161
    9,518
    Sep 23, 2013
    I think you just applied a old patch....so you technically downgraded it to a version that doesn't support 8.x.....when you downgrade back to 4.x on the console it should be usable again, you should be able to update it back to 8.x compatible FW if you use a ds lite or something to run the update