R4i running on a 1.4J DSi

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Mbmax, Aug 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Aug 5, 2009

R4i running on a 1.4J DSi by Mbmax at 5:58 PM (59,342 Views / 0 Likes) 282 replies

  1. Mbmax
    OP

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Hi there.
    As i can see on ChinaGBA forum, someone has released a video showing a R4i working under DSi firmware 1.4J.

    Of course we can't say if it is an updated R4i or a new hardware revision here, so don't get too excited. [​IMG]

    youku video

    Source
     


  2. Technik

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    Cool ?
     
  3. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    Saw the video... looks pretty legit.

    If it's not a fake... it's an epic nintendo FAIL.
     
  5. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    do you have another link other than the rubbish youku one!?
     
  6. sightlight

    Member sightlight GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Country:
    United States
    looks *not fake* to me... preaty nic..nintendo epic fail....only been what? 5 days? LOLOLOLOL!!!! NINTENDO OWNED!
     
  7. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    No, I just watched the video from youku... I just needed to accept the site in noscript, then after one ad, the playback started...

    I have downloaded the flv, 4.58 MB, do you want me to upload it here?
     
  8. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    stick it on youtube or something it will be too big for here please [​IMG]
     
  9. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    Ok, uploading on revver...

    Will post the link here...

    Ok on dailymotion... (a junk account I just made) publishing...

    R4i on DSi 1.4
     
  10. bach3609

    Member bach3609 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Loading................
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Oooo this means the revolution for dsi flashcards is just starting. 5 days only and someone already got a r4i to work on v1.4. Amazing [​IMG]
     
  11. sightlight

    Member sightlight GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Country:
    United States
    but is it running on a update of the R4i or a different hardware?
     
  12. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    we don't know yet no one has said!?
     
  13. watex5

    Member watex5 dvd

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    [​IMG] i hope they reveal how to do it [​IMG] [​IMG] EDIT: WAIIT THATS THE R4 I HAVE! *gets really hopeful* =D
     
  14. sightlight

    Member sightlight GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Country:
    United States
    and quikly!
     
  15. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    Looking at the video it certainly looks legit. No obvious video cuts or other attempts at obfuscation. The video is also on the www.r4ids.com website as well (is this the official official R4i website?)

    In any case definitely promising.
     
  16. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    Checked the video on full screen...

    Once inserted, the R4 shows a title + icon from a retail game...

    Picture:
    [​IMG]

    And finally video:
    R4i on DSi

    The cart is an R4i Gold from R4ids.com (look at the video on first page ^^).
     
  17. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    does any one have an r4i that could test to see if it works on their dsi

    if this is true then its awesome
     
  18. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm definitely odd? How do the R4i's normally look like on the main menu? I thought you could customize how the icons/text looked or maybe I'm thinking of something else.
     
  19. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    [​IMG] does this mean they are spoofing the ID of a retail game to get it to boot?!
     
  20. sightlight

    Member sightlight GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Country:
    United States
    what do you mean?its fake? maybe they need to change the icon or hack it like psp chickHEN to bypass and access the flashcard.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page