R4i Gold V1.4 "An error has occurred" on DSi

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by TeeR, Dec 16, 2012.

Dec 16, 2012
  1. TeeR
    OP

    Member TeeR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I recently got an R4i Gold and whenever I put it into my DSi it says "An error has occurred. Press and hold the POWER Button to turn the system off. Please refer to the Nintendo DSi Operations Manual for details.
    When the USB Micro SD Card reader is in the Computer with the Micro SD Card (It says to put a disk into Removable Disk (E:) without it) it shows NDS games and folders of moonmemo, moonshl2 and R4iMenu.
    How do I fix this problem?
    EDIT: My DSi is 1.4.4E
     
  2. tranfeer

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria
    You should tell us the website on the sticker of your card.
     
  3. TeeR
    OP

    Member TeeR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It doesn't say a website on the Card Sticker, but on the box it says http://www.r4-pro.com
    EDIT: Which is now taken down...
     
  4. mj yule

    Newcomer mj yule Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine did that AFTER i flashed with the new 4.5.0.10 and hasn't worked since. All I got on reboot was "no card in slot". That was on the 3ds and DSlite. Subsequent reflashing attempts "fail" at about the 80% mark. Tried all available firmwares on 2 DS lites, 2 different R4 original carts and last night I tried using various R4 kernel packs to load the .nds (YS menu etc). I tried using a CycloDS Evo too - all with exactly the same result. The 4.5.0.10 firmware pack that I downloaded has screwed the card imho :-(
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/315784-flash-carts-and-dsi3ds-updates/

    This explains what's going on. Your DSi has been updated past what your flash cart supports. You need to download AND RUN the update file from your cart's site. This, unfortunately, means you WILL, WILL WILL WILL need another DS that can currently run the cart (In order to run the update), since your DS is currently blocking the cart, so it can't run, and so can't update.

    Or get a new cart that's been pre-updated.
     
  6. mj yule

    Newcomer mj yule Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't have a DSi - I have 2 DS lites and a 3ds XL. I updated the brand new card on the DS lite , put it into the 3ds XL (on 4.5.0.10) and it was "detected" - tried to load a rom and it gave the error message. I rebooted and it wasn't detected at all - in the 3ds OR DS lite. I did manage to reflash it a couple of times (no ryhme or reason in the "successes") but each time I went to load a rom it stuck at "loading" and then on reboot became "undetected" again.

    Maybe I have a duff card, I should have tried it in the DS lite before flashing, but looking at the others with similar issues the problems appears to be the flash files that are "off".
     
  7. mj yule

    Newcomer mj yule Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just a thought.... the 3ds update was Dec 4th and the dsi update later - any chance Nintendo updated the 3ds firmware without revising the build code (4.5.1-10) ????
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I was responding to the first post initially.

    In your case, flash cart detection should only happen on boot, once the cart's booted (and you can see the ROM list and such) the protection isn't running anymore. It sounds like your cart's overwriting part of it's flash by mistake (bricking itself), and while we've seen this in the past it's generally isolated issues regarding bugs involving very large DS ROMs (512MB usually) and malformatted MicroSD cards.

    I'd suggest trying another MicroSD, preferably a well-branded one from a physical store (not something that comes with a cell phone or from a chinese import shop).
     
  9. mj yule

    Newcomer mj yule Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've been using Sandisk 2gb microSD's formatted with Panasonics sd formatter in the original R4 cards (as source) and I tried a TDK in the CycloDS. In the R4i 3DS I've been using Sandisks and a 4gb TDK. All with the same result. It's a repeating result now - no matter what DS lite (have 2) , R4 original (have 2) or source software (r4 wood,ys menu, retrogamers pack). The rom loads, I eject the card, insert the r4i 3ds, , press B and get NO response, press A and it attempts to flash, bar moves along to near completion and then stops with a FAIL message :-(
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like a defective cart then.
     
  11. TeeR
    OP

    Member TeeR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is there any possible way to play this on my DSi or should I just get an old DS?
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I already told you, you'll need to download and run the update file from an older DS. Once your cart is updated it should resume working like before.
     

Share This Page