R4i gold 3ds flashcart update for 3DS 2.0.0-2

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Nicole Luyben, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. Nicole Luyben
    OP

    Newcomer Nicole Luyben Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    As we know that R4ids.cn has released the update news that their R4i gold flashcart is working on the latest 3DS update firmware 2.0.0-2,and today they added another news and the confirmed video,let's take a look!

    Here is the quote from r4ids.cn official site

    "R4i GOLD 3DS can support Nintendo 3DS Ver 2.0.0-2?J,E,U?successfully without any updating,
    anyway please download The Patch V1.4.2c if you don't get a "Spongebob Squarepants" Icon
    after loading your 3DS card... (2011-06-07)"

    and here is the video for you

    [youtube]7TepXVXWJX4[/youtube]


    You may feel confused about what is the meaning , and Let's make it clear and tell you when to use the V1.4.2 patch and when to just use the latest wood firmware

    After you insert your R4i flashcart and power on your 3SD console , if you see the "SpongeBob;s Atlantis Squarepantis THQ" icon, then you dont neeed to use any patch , just use the latest wood firmware V1.30 and run on 3DS v2.0.0-2

    here is the pic of "SpongeBob;s Atlantis Squarepantis THQ" icon

    [​IMG]

    But if you see the "Miami Nights 3D Ubisoft", then you need download the V1.4.2C patch and then install it,Notice , you need use a DS/DSi console to do the update , after you download the file , you will see a "Read me.txt " file, you will find the step by step instruction there.

    here is the pic of "Miami Nights 3D Ubisoft"

    [​IMG]

    here is the quote of the guide

    This patch is designed for r4ids gold 3ds released by r4ids.cn
    In order to make your r4ids gold 3ds run on NDSi V1.4.2, you should update your r4ids gold with this patch.
    Please do as the procedures listed below.

    (1)The procedures for V142C_Patch_R4iGOLD_NDSL.nds
    1.Download the latest WOOD R4 for R4ids gold from www.r4ids.cn and unzip it to the root directory of your tf card
    2.Copy V142C_Patch_R4iGOLD_NDSL.nds to your tf card
    3.You should get a NDSL
    4.Just power your NDSL on and boot up V142C_Patch_R4iGOLD_NDSL.nds
    5.Take your R4ids Gold out of the NDSL
    6.Reinsert your R4ids Gold into the NDSL
    7.Press KEY_A and the updating process will begin
    8.You should keep your NDSL powered on during the updating process
    9.IF the result shows SUCCESS, it means you have updated your R4ids Gold with success and this card can work on NDSi V1.4.2

    For the users whose R4ids Gold has been broken, you can get a NDSL and another flashcard.
    Just boot up V142C_Patch_R4iGOLD_NDSL.nds with the other flashcard and reinsert your R4ids Gold.
    You can also update your R4ids Gold.


    (2)The procedures for V142C_Patch_R4iGOLD_NDSi.nds
    1.Download the latest WOOD R4 for R4ids Gold from www.r4ids.cn and unzip it to the root directory of your tf card
    2.Copy V142C_Patch_R4iGOLD_NDSi.nds to your tf card
    3.You should get a NDSi
    4.Just power your NDSi on and boot up V142C_Patch_R4iGOLD_NDSi.nds
    5.Attention:do not take out your R4ids Gold
    6.Press KEY_A and the updating process will begin
    7.You should keep your NDSL powered on during the updating process
    8.IF the result shows SUCCESS, it means you have updated your R4ids Gold with success and this card can work on NDSi V1.4.2
     


  2. Aielanor

    Newcomer Aielanor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Australia
    Thank you nicole xD
    Cleared my confused mind,,,,I would add one thing,,,here's the links for you guys to download the r4i gold 3ds patch V1.4.2c
     
  3. katrina0126

    Newcomer katrina0126 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for your writing,you have done a good job!! [​IMG] i will check my R4i gold 3ds card,and to update it to work on the 3DS V2.0.0..
     
  4. tranfeer

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria
    nicole:)
    It's a good job.
     
  5. mark10

    Newcomer mark10 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    this only works if your cart was a 3d compatible, & you update from Miami Nights to SpongeBob.
    if you got a R4ids gold(non-3DS) that you updated from Alex Rider to SpongeBob icon it wont work on the new update 3DS Ver 2.0.0-2(J,E,U) .
    hopefully the team will bring out a fix, as these carts are very good.



    also if your icon is Meet the Robinsons update to V1.4.2b (Miami Nights) icon, then use V1.4.2c Patch to (SpongeBob) icon.
    i tried updating from Meet the Robinsons icon with The V1.4.2c Patch, now that cart in not working just white screens, mite be a fluke though.
     
  6. piktaz

    Newcomer piktaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Lithuania
    How to update this card if i dont have DSI/L and no possibility to borrow from? Could be a solution to upgrade firmware directly from N3DS as R4i-sdhc has..

    [​IMG]
     
  7. mryoshi

    Newcomer mryoshi Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I also don't have a DSI or L [​IMG]

    does someone know if it is possible to update the gold card with a 3DS still running the old firmare?
     
  8. Geostar

    Newcomer Geostar Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's a chance it may brick your card. I wouldn't reccomend it but if you have no other option then try it.
     
  9. piktaz

    Newcomer piktaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Lithuania
    And post result here. [​IMG]
     
  10. mryoshi

    Newcomer mryoshi Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Netherlands
    R4ids.cn mailed me this after asking same question

    Sorry about that you do need another  NDSi or NDSL  to do the Patch V1.4.2c updating for your 3DS card...please follow the instruction in readme.txt...


    Mmmmm...
    Is it posible to update using the first ds (oldest one) ?
     
  11. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you can use the dsphat.
     
  12. tranfeer

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria
    You can complete the updating process with a 3DS whose system is under 2.0.0-2.Just follow the instructions V142C_Patch_R4iGOLD_NDSi.nds and you should boot up V142C_Patch_R4iGOLD_NDSi.nds.
     
  13. mryoshi

    Newcomer mryoshi Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Tried what tranfeer suggested
    I openend the V142C_Patch_R4iGOLD_NDSi.nds on a 3DS from a friend with still the old firmware on it.
    it patched normally, and now it works great again [​IMG]
     
  14. dakidukno

    Newcomer dakidukno Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you...so much. lol
     
  15. kevlagnu

    Newcomer kevlagnu Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,

    I have the R4i 3DS from R4i Shopper, red box, non gold version. I updated yesterday without checking the site (I know, foolish) and now the card has the black screen error.

    I have my DS lite, and an old M3 card, but this will not run Woody so therefore I cannot run the Woody patch.

    Does anyone know - What cards will allow me to run the woody patch, then remove it, so I can insert my messed up R4i card?

    Does it have to be another R4i 3DS card, or can it be an old R4 card? tried a mates yesterday and it wouldn't run woody either so looks like I have to buy another cart. Most annoying.

    Thank you!
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    So wait, it goes back to spongebob?

    Because they released their first 1.4.2 patch and it was spongebob, but that wasn't done properly and bricked some carts so they released a V2 which used Miami Nights.
     
  17. Bleubolt

    Newcomer Bleubolt Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can someone confirm, if i have an empty micro sd card. what do i put on first, ie.. extract the V1.51B kernel onto the micro SD, then extract the Wood R4 V1.30 ontop of the microSD card, overwriting the files ?

    or do i only need wood, ? why is there 2 files to download ?
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You can just install Wood.
     
  19. captfalcon

    captfalcon Newbie

    I have updated to 1.42c and the spongebob pants icon is displayed in the menu but I get a black screen on my 3ds when it is booted and a white screen on my dsl. I have tried 1.42b which displays miami nights and this works on my dsl but not my 3ds. I have been used the .ndsl update and not the .ndsi as this says card check has failed. Anyone else having any issues or know how to fix this??
     
  20. Immortal_no1

    Member Immortal_no1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i've also had issues updating mine, same process.

    Had a Miami Nights 3D card, updated it to 1.4.2C i got the spongebob icon and get a blackscreen followed by needing to restart my 3ds, and on my dslite i get a white screen. i had the latest wood firmware on it too.

    Contacted the guys at r4ids.cn they're looking into it now. i want to try updating my cards with a DSI maybe that will solve my problem, i'll try it tomorrow with my friends DS.

    Tried everything i can think of to get it working, at the point of the update the card becomes unusable and needs to be reflashed by using another card.

    I'll update you guys on what's going on.
     

Share This Page