R4ds Flashme

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by rhyguy, Jul 24, 2007.

Jul 24, 2007

R4ds Flashme by rhyguy at 12:38 PM (2,488 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Will Flashing my ds improve Download and play if i give the r4 to my friend who has an unflashed ds?

    and can you flash your ds with just an r4?(if so, any tutorials)


    thanks in advance
     
  2. xalphax

    Member xalphax Internet killed the Ponystar.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    here'n'there
    Country:
    Croatia
    yes, thats the way i play with my friends on download play.

    its really easy to install flashme, and works using just a R4DS.

    put the flashme.nds on your R4, open the battery cover of your ds, there is a hole where you can see two contacts, its the SL1 bridge
    You have to short that in order to be able to flash the write protected section of your flash.

    tinfoil works good for this purpose

    so start up your r4, run flashme.nds, then short out SL1, and start the flashing process. and its done before you know it.
     
  3. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    ok, thanks, 2 more questions, how do i short the sl1 thing, and if i stop shorting it for a second, will it brick my ds?

    Edit:nvm, i saw the tin foil thing
     
  4. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    There's a Flashme guide here.
     
  5. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    thanks
     
  6. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    I should mention that flashing doesn't improve download play for the R4. This has been tested personally by the way.
     
  7. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    wait, so theres not really point of me flashing my ds then?
     
  8. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Not yours, and not the receiving one. I'm not sure about other cards, but I know for a fact that the R4 cannot send to flashed DS's with any higher of a compatibility rate as it currently is without.
     
  9. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    oh, well, then, i dont think i'll install it

    thanks for telling me
     
  10. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    It dont works. Or Mario Kart DS goes away from the Nintendo Lego and afterwarts you only get the white screen of death.
     
  11. paul1991

    Banned paul1991 Banned

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    680
    Country:
    United States
    I have tested Download play with 2 flashed DSs.
    With the R4 Nothing will improve DP support. I would flash to prvent CrashMe From bricking your DS.

    The N-Card On the other hand, has excellent DP support with flashme.
     
  12. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    It's perfect with it, as with other cards which support (?) broadcasting to a flashed DS
     

Share This Page