R4DS + 4GB Microsd problem

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Hermie, Nov 12, 2007.

Nov 12, 2007

R4DS + 4GB Microsd problem by Hermie at 12:04 AM (4,015 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Hermie
    OP

    Newcomer Hermie Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the R4DS and had it working perfectly with a 2gb Kingston micro sd, so I was keen to upgrade to 4gb, but each time I have tried, the ds gets stuck at "Loading..." and gets no further. I have used the same software as on the 2gb, I have tried newer software from the R4DS site, I have formatted the micro sd card with the default settings in Win XP, but still no joy. Will it just not work with 4gb, or this particular 4gb card? According to the info on the card, it is a "Sandisk 4gb micro sd hc". Have I bought an incompatible card or is there anything else I can try please? [​IMG]

    Any advice is greatly appreciated. [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. azndragonguy115

    Member azndragonguy115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    its not compatible with SDHC cards
     
  3. Hermie
    OP

    Newcomer Hermie Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah, thanks. Are all micro sd cards over 2gb therefore sdhc? So I'd be best off just getting another 2gb?

    Thanks
     
  4. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    OR wait for the new version of the R4DS which has SDHC capabilities.
     
  5. cupajoe

    Member cupajoe Have a cup of joe!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    It might. Many are skeptical.
     
  6. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    Like with everything else, only time will tell.
     
  7. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, if you want an R4DS that supports MicroSDs larger than 2GB, you gotta purchase the new one that the R4 team is releasing.

    ~Nero
     
  8. hollabackitsobi

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    Just buy a Cyclo and save yourself some trouble. It has everything the R4 has and more.
     
  9. Omoikane1979

    Member Omoikane1979 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I am not sure if all microSD cards over 2 gb are SDHC, however if you are looking for R4-compatible microSD cards make sure they don't have the HC extension and you should be safe.
     
  10. paul3100

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So the R4 team are " NOT " coing to bring an update for existing R4 cards then! cause its whats been said to be going to happen.

    Though the supercard team couldn't manage SDHC with a simple firmware update and so had to bring out another ( SCS1 SDHC ) and seems to have a little compatibility issue with some roms.

    Hope R4 can bring HC support to existing cards with firmware anyway ...

    paul
     

Share This Page