r4decrypt

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by iamwhoiam, May 16, 2007.

May 16, 2007

r4decrypt by iamwhoiam at 2:36 PM (34,591 Views / 1 Likes) 77 replies

  1. iamwhoiam
    OP

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just in case anyone missed it from this thread

    chishm has released his R4 decryption program to decrypt the dat files (cheat.dat and the firmware file, _DS_MENU.DAT)

    You can also use it to encrypt back the files, so e.g... you can use this program to encrypt usrcheat.dat into cheat.dat so you don't need to use a blank cheat.dat

    You can find it here

    Original thread at gbadev

    Usage:
     
    Ryccardo likes this.


  2. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    This tool is _AMAZING_. I encrypted the FlashME binary to _DS_MENU.DAT and it worked perfectly (booted with FlashME v8's recovery mode). Also, DSOrganize can now be used as a bootloader and since de-encrypted _DS_MENU.DAT is just a .NDS binary, you can still keep it on the card.

    Hats off to you chishm, you never fail to amaze us.
     
  3. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I still get the same error [​IMG]

    edit-
    got it working I think, put the _DS_MENU.dat in the same directory
    now to figure out how to use this

    edit-
    can someone prnt screen what they see when they open the decrypted _DS_MENU.DAT in tilemolester?
     
  4. iamwhoiam
    OP

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How on earth did he figure it out? How did he get the output from the R4?
     
  5. D-Trogh

    Member D-Trogh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    For some of you that don't know how to work with cmd I made this .BAT file.
    Just copy and paste this in NotePad and save under 'All Files' as: NameOfYourChoose.BAT
    Like this you don't need to work with cmd, just make sure you put _DS_MENU.DAT, r4crypt.exe and this .BAT file in the same folder !
    Then execute the .BAT file !


    For you guys who want to see the images in TileMolester:
    View - Codec - 16bpp ABGR
    View - Mode - 2-Dimensional
     
  6. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    aha, 16bpp ABGR, thanks [​IMG]

    edit
    AHA, found the soft reset and sun icons [​IMG]
     
  7. D-Trogh

    Member D-Trogh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    No problem [​IMG]
    Now.. let's edit those damn icons [​IMG]
     
  8. khan

    Member khan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,320
    Country:
    Pakistan
    After I de-encrypt _MENU_.DAT, Which app do I need to use to get rid of those ugly Brightness/Reset buttons?
     
  9. Pedro UK

    Member Pedro UK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry for my ignorance but what is the point of this? Does it have any uses for us ordinary folk or is it something for coders? Maybe for custom firmwares etc?
     
  10. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I'm gonna upload some _DS_MENU.DAT's tommorrow with new icons n stuff.. I've got the hang of how all this works now

    and I bet eventually, the R4DS team will come out with a new firmware where you can just replace .bmps's [​IMG]
     
  11. -EX-

    Banned -EX- Racer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Can you remove the hardware check with this? In order to run Chinese firmware and M3DSS firmware? Or vice versa.
     
  12. iamwhoiam
    OP

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I should think so...

     
  13. iamwhoiam
    OP

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...or not:

     
  14. iamwhoiam
    OP

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How's this going TakaM?

    This could potentially be a way to customise the entire system. Although moving the icons will take some time to figure out
     
  15. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    yeah, I thought I would have done something lol.
    the thing is, I'm sitting here, staring at the icons and I can't think of what I would rather have..

    not that I like the current icons, I just can't think of anything I'd rather have [​IMG]

    edit
    oh and btw, the default skin is in there, so for the few people that can't get fan-made skins displaying on their R4, they can change it with this.
    I kinda want to change everything, for like a specific skin...

    maybe for my first one I will...
     
  16. D-Trogh

    Member D-Trogh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yeah.. I thought of that before.. but I think this will cost pallete editing.. [​IMG] And that's hard..

    Well.. ones you know where the colors are stored it isn't.. but.. you know [​IMG]
     
  17. lafleche

    Member lafleche GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Perhaps some clever guy or girl will
    - find out to make POR running on every micro sd-card?
    - find out to make also the latest 'problem' games running on the R4 (even before the R4 team does)?

    and also hope that some idiot won't release a version which bricks the DS....'cause that is my greatest fear... unless this forum 'installs' some kind of QA on private firmware for the time being I will stay far away from non official firmware
     
  18. iq_132

    Member iq_132 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Most definitely.
    M3 software hacked to run on R4 hardware (tested)
    R4 Chinese hacked to run on R4 English hardware (tested)
    R4 software hacked to run on M3 hardware (untested)
    btw, you must delete _DS_MENU.sys it contains a partial backup of this file.

    Please, someone with an M3 test the second one.
    Also, I'll try and see if I can come up with a generic way of patching out the hardware lock-out & fixing the file loading, also, I'll try and see what I can do with the chinese builds too. ^^


    btw, if this breaks any rules, sorry :S
     
  19. iamwhoiam
    OP

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where did they originate from?
     
  20. iq_132

    Member iq_132 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Me. You can decrypt them and check the diffs if you'd like. There's ~12 bytes changed from the original files.
     

Share This Page