1. nashismo

    OP nashismo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Chile
    So yeah, what do you guys think?

    I got a Ds Lite bought in Japan, I simply changed the language and it worked fine, readed GBA games also. BUT, it did not read my R4 flashcart for some reason!

    The weird things is that I had this same R4 working with my New 3DS XL (which I sold a month ago), and it was hard making it work with it, but I updated the r4 card and did everything to the book and got it working back then.

    But this DS Lite just won't read it. I already send it back because independent of that issue, the screens were SUPER yellowish and I paid a good amount for the DS, so it was not nice from the seller.

    Regardless, what do you guys think the problem was? Because I still think of getting a japanese DS Lite and it will be frustrating when the R4 doesn't work again.


    Thank you guys, and my good feelings to all of you, except a few hahahah
     
  2. LeonPro12

    LeonPro12 Wants to make DS hb but don't knows how C++ works.
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Germany
    Maybe try to blow in the cartridge slot. It helps a lot.
     
  3. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo and his tropane alkaloids
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6,919
    Country:
    Italy
    Possibly bad connections, or the flashcard (which you didn't specify, I doubt anything with R4 in the name does this but who knows?) using different firmwares for DS/Lite and DSi/3DS and the first one being bad?
     
  4. LeonPro12

    LeonPro12 Wants to make DS hb but don't knows how C++ works.
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Germany
    They are pretty much all the same. There are about 5 kernel variants:
    R4 Menu
    Wood
    Some R4 King thing
    SC DS One Kernel
    R4 TimeBomb Kernel.

    So I don't think that it's the cards problem.
    Could you send us a picture of the card, please?
     
  5. nashismo

    OP nashismo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Chile
    Ok, I will do that right now, thanks!

    I was actually WEEKS trying to find the updated kernel files for this particular card, so that it can work on the 3DS, which it does, so if anybody wants them, just tell, they are almost impossible to find.

    IMG_20190405_224600.jpg
     
  6. LeonPro12

    LeonPro12 Wants to make DS hb but don't knows how C++ works.
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Germany
    Try this one:
    http://ace3ds.com/download/AOS_v2.13.zip

    If it doesn't work just say it and I'll search for another.
     
    nashismo likes this.
  7. nashismo

    OP nashismo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Chile
    Thank you so much, I will download it, but now I don't have that DS Lite anymore, because I had to send it back because the screens were bad.

    But still, thank you very much, I am a grateful. And now I know who to ask about carts in the future ;) (when I finally get a good DS).

    Cheers and take care! Thanks again.
     
    LeonPro12 likes this.
  8. LeonPro12

    LeonPro12 Wants to make DS hb but don't knows how C++ works.
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks for the compliments! You can ask me whenever you want and I'll help you:lol:!
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2019
  9. robyspy

    robyspy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Italy
    @nashismo
    Did you have the CFW installed on the 3DS to make the R4 work?
    If the answer is a NO, what firmware did you have on the 3DS?
    By updating the R4, what exactly do you mean and where did you get the files from?
    Can you post a photo of the micro sd files of when the R4 worked on the 3DS?
    Excuse me for too many questions, but your answers, if given correctly they will be precious for me and for you :)

    EDIT:
    Please can you pass me the files that make this R4 work?
    Then I compare them with the ones I have.
    thank you
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2019
  10. LeonPro12

    LeonPro12 Wants to make DS hb but don't knows how C++ works.
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Germany
    Maybe he uses NTR Launcher, which I think is based on DS FW Ver. 1. So maybe his DS Lite is on Version 7 or so and it was fixed by Nintendo. But I don't think so because it's one of the newer flashcards, that even support 3DS.
     
  11. robyspy

    robyspy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Italy
    You have lots of flashcards, so you should know that DSLite has no firmware and all flashcards work on DSLite.
    Yes it is true it supports the 3DS, we need to understand which OFW3DS (FWDSi) the update had arrived.
    Another thing to understand is if he confuses the DSLite with the DSi
    (DSLite has no firmware, DSI has firmware).
     
  12. LeonPro12

    LeonPro12 Wants to make DS hb but don't knows how C++ works.
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Germany
    I know but some SLOT-2 Devices were blocked in new DS Lite "Firmwares". You can check which firmware you have by putting the DS Card out, when you are in PictoChat.
     
  13. larrypretty

    larrypretty GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    417
    Country:
    United States
    It comes from which site? can't see it clearly.
     
  14. LeonPro12

    LeonPro12 Wants to make DS hb but don't knows how C++ works.
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Germany
    R4iSDHC.CC.
    It's basicly an ACE3DS+ Clone, so I think you can use AOS.
     
  15. nashismo

    OP nashismo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Chile
    I remember I installed CFW and then I installed something else to make the R4 work on the 3DS, I cannot remember the name of the aplication.

    These are the files that "work" on the 3DS, that I downloaded from a forgotten chinese site which probably now does not exist.
     

    Attached Files:

    robyspy likes this.
  16. LeonPro12

    LeonPro12 Wants to make DS hb but don't knows how C++ works.
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Germany
    Okay. Your card's kernel/firmware is based on YSMenu. So the files I sent you probably won't work.
    I'll just try to search for a possible working kernel. But normaly, if it works on a 3DS it must work on older gen's.

    What icon is displayed on your 3DS, if you plug your card in (For Example "Touch! Bomberman Land")?
     
  17. nashismo

    OP nashismo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Chile
    This is the image that appears, but here is the thing, now I sold that 3ds (it was my brothers) and I just bought a New 2DS XL for myself (I gave up on buying a good DS Lite), and of course NOW the card does not work in the 2DS XL IMG_20190412_142944.jpg :(

    But I send you the image,
     
  18. LeonPro12

    LeonPro12 Wants to make DS hb but don't knows how C++ works.
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Germany
    Oh wtf:huh:. I've never seen that icon, and I know a lot of flashcards.
    So what does it say if you try to boot it up?
     
  19. nashismo

    OP nashismo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Chile
    A message appears and says: Se ha producido un error, mantén oprimido el boton POWER, etc which is: An error has ocurred, keep the power button pressed, etc.

    Thanks for your time!
     
  20. LeonPro12

    LeonPro12 Wants to make DS hb but don't knows how C++ works.
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Germany
    No problem!
    That means that your 3DS blocked your card.
    You need to install CFW.
    What version is your 3DS on?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Japanese, working, working