R4 want internet

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by newgooo, Nov 26, 2007.

Nov 26, 2007

R4 want internet by newgooo at 5:51 PM (2,182 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. newgooo
    OP

    Newcomer newgooo Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Hi , first time poster.

    This might be a dumb question but i am confused and have to ask.

    I have the R4 and want to go online. What do i need?
    Is the ez flash 3in 1 all i need?
    Is the passcard needed?
    Any patches .
    Is there a guide?
    Also is internet connection fast enough to be practical? thanks.
     


  2. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm confused by nearly all your questions. By "Online" do you mean web browsing or playing people online?

    Are you a native speaker of English? Or just confused...?
     
  3. Fiddy101

    Fiddy101 Newbie

    1. Either an Nintendo Wifi USB Connector or a wireless router
    2. No
    3. No
    4. Don't think so
    5. Perhaps but i don't know about one its pretty easy though
    6. Yes Wifi on the DS is pretty good but the Opera Browser is very slow
     
  4. moozxy

    Member moozxy hamboning

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you want to go on the internet using the Opera Browser, you'll need a ram expansion.
     
  5. newgooo
    OP

    Newcomer newgooo Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for checking my post.

    By going Online I mean web browsing.
    I saw the 3in 1 but wasent sure what else i might need, i don't want gba games or to play others online.

    Practical -meaning am i going to kill my self waiting for a web page to load or is it bearable ,perhaps similar to dial up speeds.

    I know these are big words but try to keep up Artic flame, thanks for nothing
     
  6. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1. Learn to spell. US English is fine, but I'm sure Arctic still has a "C" in it. I help people whom I can understand. In fact, why even bother being patronizing. [​IMG]

    2. For Web browsing, all you need is the 3 in 1 expansion pack, or the Ewin expansion pack. I recommend the 3 in 1. You'll need Rudolph's 3in1 ExpPack tool ( http://blog.so-net.ne.jp/Rudolph/ ) However, the homebrew program DSOrganise has a pretty good built in browser.

    3. It's only just about bearable speed. Especially if you're browsing an image-heavy page
     
  7. newgooo
    OP

    Newcomer newgooo Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Well I thank you Arctic with a "c" Your information and your patience with my fumbled words. you have been very helpful and I appreciate it. I am going to get the 3 in 1. Thanks again and no hard feels Artctic
     
  8. Sonicslasher

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States
    what is this RAM expansion people keep talking about?
     
  9. fryguy

    Member fryguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    Sweden
    Opera DS is bundled with a RAM expansion which sits in the GBA slot of the DS.
     
  10. camx

    Member camx GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    colorado USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah when i read his post i couldnt understand what he meant either. Good that someone was able to decipher his cryptic use of words. Honestly he left his "online" question so vague i immediately began thinking he wanted to play GBA roms, with multiplayer modes, online. Either that or I thought he was talking about simply downloading games. Glad its cleared up though. Also, when you use the words "dumb" and "confused" to describe something your about to say, I would expect people to be at least a little sarcastic considering you already opened yourself up for admittedly more than what anyone gave you.
     
  11. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, he apologized, move on now and no hard feelings...

    You may as well look into all the functions of the 3in1 if you're planning to actually get it, head to the unofficial EZ-Flash forums for more info: http://ezflash.sosuke.com/forum-16.html (read the stickies)

    Of course, you can ignore everything not pertaining to the 3in1.
     
  12. Sonicslasher

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States
    can I use that program for other solt-1 devices? and this is a program that will let me use opera?
    how do I use this????
     
  13. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]

    1. You learn to spell (sonicslasher)

    2. You buy virtually any slot 2 card with extra RAM

    3a. If it's a 3in1 cart (Ewin/EZFlash) then get the relevant tools from rudolph's blog or Ewin's site. Skip 3b.

    3b. Search google for "Opera RAM expansion patch (insert cart you just bought here)"
     
  14. Sonicslasher

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States
    So I need extra RAM?
     
  15. Sonicslasher

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States
    It says 3in1 not found...
     
  16. newgooo
    OP

    Newcomer newgooo Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    camx, thanks for your 2 cents. hope you feel better now. [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  17. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    You don't even need the Opera browser, DSHobro the homebrew browser is so much better in my opinion.
     
  18. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Snap, didn't see 2nd page, stuff not relevant. [​IMG]
     
  19. Sonicslasher

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States
    do you need a RAM expansion for that one?
     
  20. cheesyPOOF5

    Member cheesyPOOF5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    United States
    No, but you need a computer at home.
     

Share This Page