R4 w/ SDHC

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by SuperGeek, Nov 30, 2007.

Nov 30, 2007

R4 w/ SDHC by SuperGeek at 4:49 PM (8,389 Views / 0 Likes) 36 replies

  1. SuperGeek
    OP

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Can SDHC support be added to the R4 via a software update, or is SDHC a hardware thing?

    I'm asking because I just purchased an R4, and SDHC looks really appealing to me.

    -SG
     


  2. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    I think it is hardware thing.
     
  3. SuperGeek
    OP

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Damn, so you're saying that no chance of an update?
     
  4. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    I dont know much about electronics, but i readed some discussion about that in other post, and someone who know about that stuff said, that it is matter of hardware not software.
     
  5. Mars

    Member Mars Radioactive Propaganda Minister

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    United States
    As far is I know, it is a software issue. I don't think it can be solved by just a firmware update. I think this is
    why the R4 team is releasing an entirely new flashcard which will include SDHC support.
     
  6. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Someone point out the contradiction in this witness' testimony!

    (I'm virtually sure that it's a hardware issue, as the R4 bootloader can't be updated)
     
  7. ackers

    Member ackers GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They're supposed to be releasing a R4DS SDHC card. I'm still waiting...
     
  8. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The R4 does not support SDHC. Only the new SDHC R4 will.

    It's possible to add support through a firmware update (the M3 Team did this with their Slot-2 cards, for example) but the R4 firmware isn't upgradable (the new software you download are loaders which are loaded by the firmware).
     
  9. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    The R4 firmware is a simple NoPass code that loads the _DS_MENU.DAT file (which is essentially just an encrypted .nds) from the microSD card. If it would be rewritable, support could be added, but it unfortunately isn't.
     
  10. rozzan143

    Newcomer rozzan143 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Sweden
    just found out that only nokia sells non "sdhc" 4GB MicroSD cards
     
  11. SuperGeek
    OP

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Meh. I can't believe this. I just bought an R4 DS and now I find out that the CycloDS is 100x better AND there's a SDHC version of the R4 coming out and the R4 team may discontinue the original version's support.
     
  12. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think they will stop supporting the old R4. It will likely only be a minor hardware change to the new one to allow SDHC support. The firmwares may be universal between the old and new cards since the software has nothing to do with how it reads a microSD.

    But I'm only speculating.
     
  13. SuperGeek
    OP

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    But there's no chance there will be an update of any sort to let the current R4s use SDHC?

    EDIT: Also, is there some sort of modification one could do to add SDHC support?
     
  14. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    They probably won't discontinue their support for the original version.
    Still, you should've bought another cart, or at least the SDHC-version of the R4.
    Just wait until you hear about the M3 Real [​IMG]
     
  15. dsbomb

    Member dsbomb GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, you're best off throwing your DS and R4 in the garbage now. Don't be tempted to have any fun with it. Keep the anger strong!! You can't put but 25 or 30 games on piddly 2GB card. That's not enough to get me through typing this post. Grrrr! [​IMG]
     
  16. SuperGeek
    OP

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Hear what about it? ...
     
  17. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Umm.. No they won't..

    If they can update the new SDHC R4, why not update the older version?

    Is SDHC honestly that important to you? Seems like you don't even care about your R4 anymore. [​IMG]

    ~Nero
     
  18. SuperGeek
    OP

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Meh, I am just now learning about different alternatives and I'm geting a bit irritated that I could've purchased something better.
     
  19. retiredjerk

    Member retiredjerk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    i know how irritating paying for a flashcart that plays eveything 100% even if a few games need patching. WOW u must feel so ripped off that u bought a product that does exactly what it is supposed to do. Poor you. Lets all start a fund so supergeek can buy another flashcart which im sure he'll regret when something new comes along. I seriously am getting sick of the R4 bashing lately. Funny thing is everyone talks about cyclo this and cyclo that. But tell me where the hell are they even selling Cyclo that is actually in stick right now?

    Here is something we should think about. When we buy electronics we KNOW that at some point it will become outdated and even obsolete. Thats the price you pay for buying something now. If you really want the best flashcart ever then wait 5 years for the DS to die and choose the best one out there.
    Also the R4 is so damn cheap in price i cant believe any of you complain about not getting your money's worth.
     
  20. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    This man speaks the truth. [​IMG]

    SuperGeek, if you don't have a MicroSDHC or just don't care about any space higher than 2GB, don't get another Flashcart.
    4GB MicroSDHCs go for $50+.. I hope that price is good enough for you. [​IMG]

    ~Nero
     

Share This Page