R4 v1.08(beta) kernel is out

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by ahtin, Apr 2, 2007.

Apr 2, 2007

R4 v1.08(beta) kernel is out by ahtin at 9:34 AM (9,391 Views / 0 Likes) 94 replies

  1. ahtin
    OP

    Member ahtin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Language: English
    Updated Date:2007-4-2 18:00:01
    Version: 1.08
    Instructions: R4 v1.08(beta) kernel

    1. Automatic recognize slot 2 adapter, support NDS and GBA games card. (credit to cory1492)
    2. Customable frameset for loading slot 2 GBA games. (save your gbaframe.bmp to _system_ directory)
    3. Backup/Restore game saves. (press SELECT to switch to Display Savefiles, choose the SAV file and then press A to backup, chose the BAK file and then press A to restore)
    4. Support deleting file and empty directory. (Press X to del while highlighting the corresponding file or directory)
    5. Bug fixed for 0970 save problem.
     


  2. poloman

    Member poloman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sounds good - so you'll be able to effectively have two or more save files usable easily - perfect for games that only have one save slot!
     
  3. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    you know, I bet they had this ready yesterday, and had to wait till the 2nd of april to release it
     
  4. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    Oh yea, the save file function i've been waiting for [​IMG]
     
  5. ahtin
    OP

    Member ahtin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Yeah, this is not a April fool.. [​IMG]

    The most interesting point is u can delete files at your DS, boring game can remove a.s.a.p now lol
     
  6. khan

    Member khan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,320
    Country:
    Pakistan
    Someone care to explain a bit more on this one?
     
  7. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    Most likely, if you have a slot2 flashcard inside, it will automatically recognize it and give you the option to boot from it instead. Giving you the option of choosing whetever you want to boot the R4 first or the Slot2 card you are using, such as M3,G6,SC etc.
     
  8. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can anyone tell me what this means? does it mean we can customise the slot 2 menu or something with a skin?
     
  9. khan

    Member khan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,320
    Country:
    Pakistan
    Surely, We would not need gbaframe.bmp if R4DS can not read what GBA games there are in Slot-2. Unless R4DS now supports .gba from Slot-1 (Very, Very Unlikely).

    -Edit

    My theory: R4DS now applies gbaframe.bmp everytime we launch GBA game card from R4DS menu(Boot Slot-2).
     
  10. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that's what i am questioning as it says customisable skin for gba slot 2.... meaning it has a separate menu for gba games or something?

    edit: i've just opened the firmware and had a look at the gba frame and it seem to be a in built loader of some sort for gba flash carts, hmmm, so basically people won't have to take out the R4DS to boot thier slot 2 anymore?
     
  11. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    It probably means that, while playing GBA games on your DS, a gbaframe.bmp stored in _system_ will replace that black border which surrounds the GBA screen. Of course, you would need to boot to your Slot 2 card through the R4 menu to see the border, me thinks.
     
  12. MAD_BOY

    Member MAD_BOY Lazy bum

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    561
    Location:
    Sittard, Limburg
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you can now boot retail gba games, and the black border will be replaced by the gbaframe.bmp

    EDIT: probably the same for slot-2 carts too
     
  13. khan

    Member khan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,320
    Country:
    Pakistan
    Anone want to replace their gbaframe.bmp?

    [​IMG]

    I could upload it if people need.
     
  14. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    The black border looks the best anyway
     
  15. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dunno, I think it looks better with the R4 border.

    [​IMG]

    Sure there was a thread a few weeks ago with someone asking if they could boot GBA games without taking out the R4, looks like their prayers have been answered! The deleting thing is very useful if your card is too full to make a save file for a game, you don't have something like DS organise and you're away from your PC. My mate had his card full up with MP3s and stuff and I couldn't play some of the games I'd put on his card multiplayer cos he kept forgetting to delete stuff when he was at home and couldn't run the games.
     
  16. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah i see, so thats what it does, pretty cool ;D
     
  17. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Okay, I guess for some games the R4 loader looks slightly better. Having the black border makes it look more like a film [​IMG]

    Do those minimize, maximize and close buttons in the top right corner actually work?
     
  18. Alsvartre

    Newcomer Alsvartre Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Sweden
    Nope.
     
  19. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I've never had a problem loading slot2 from my R4 before. I never had to take the R4 out to load slot2 stuff......with the exception of one game. [​IMG]


    Does this FW still allow for the 12 theme files? I kinda like having the theme switch every month.
     
  20. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmm that's weird the theme folders are gone in this firmware version, and so is the monoshell.nds aswell?
     

Share This Page