R4 upgrade

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by darthreaper, Jun 26, 2007.

Jun 26, 2007

R4 upgrade by darthreaper at 11:05 PM (1,205 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. darthreaper
    OP

    Newcomer darthreaper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Burbank,Cali
    Country:
    United States
    I hust got my R4 last week and I was wondering How do you upgrade to 1.10?Where do you start off?
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
  3. darthreaper
    OP

    Newcomer darthreaper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Burbank,Cali
    Country:
    United States
    If I have games will they be erased?
     
  4. dbgtdob

    Member dbgtdob GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    no but if you have background themes they will be, if you just hit yes to everything, your nds roms and saves though wont be touched, and all your cheat codes will be turned off you just need to turn the ones you want back on.
     
  5. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Replacing _DS_MENU.DAT will not affect your themes/skins.
     
  6. darthreaper
    OP

    Newcomer darthreaper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Burbank,Cali
    Country:
    United States
    Ok ,But I am really having a hard time with that?I click and it says Find or Save?>So then I press save?But where do I save it?To the cd,the cpu or the tf card
     
  7. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    tf card of course
     
  8. darthreaper
    OP

    Newcomer darthreaper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Burbank,Cali
    Country:
    United States
    and then I get A file which says,English-1.10.rar
    RAR File
    141 KB
    And were do I go from here because I have that file in my TF/Micro sd card and when I am done I put in my Ds and It still says Version 1.08
     
  9. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    it's a compressed file.
    it means you can open it and find multiple other files in it.

    you need to open this file with a special software, such as Winrar ( download http://www.rarlabs.com )
    then extract the file _DS_MENU.DAT and put it on the TF card
     
  10. darthreaper
    OP

    Newcomer darthreaper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Burbank,Cali
    Country:
    United States
    OK I got it so I extract the _DS_MENU.DAT from it and send it to the tf card right?
     
  11. iq_132

    Member iq_132 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. Exactly. Also, delete _DS_MENU.SYS. A new one will be created on the next boot-up.
     

Share This Page