R4 Upgrade Revolution for DS (NDSL/NDS)

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Nano07, Apr 3, 2010.

Apr 3, 2010
  1. Nano07
    OP

    Newcomer Nano07 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Argentina
    I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction.

    I have a DS-Lite and this card "R4 Upgrade Revolution for DS (NDSL/NDS)" that I bought from www.r4i-SDHC.com

    I have put the firmware that they have in their website (R4i English v1.19b) but I really don't like it.

    Also, when I bought this card I was very new to the DS and didn't do much research, so I'm not sure if I bought a good one or if there is another card that can host a better menu than this one.

    I've been reading forums for a little while now, but because there seems to be many cards type floating around and SO many tutorials, I'm starting to feel that the more info I read the more confused I'm getting.

    I've read a bit about YSMENU and wanted to try it but I could never get it working loading at boot.

    Can someone let me know what is the best menu (in terms of look and feel and also compatibility with games) that I can install in this card.

    Thanks a lot for your help guys.
     
  2. grindbart

    Member grindbart GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Germany
    none. throw it away and buy a REAL card......
     
  3. Nano07
    OP

    Newcomer Nano07 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Argentina
    ok. Thanks for the answer, but What do you mean by "a real card"?
     
  4. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    as in a card that gets updated.

    like acekard.
     
  5. Nano07
    OP

    Newcomer Nano07 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Argentina
    ok. I'll do a bit of research on that, but that is my whole point. I don't know about all the different cards that are around, and their difference.

    So, what you are saying is that they all use the same menu, and the only difference is that some get a kernel update more often than others?
     
  6. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Menus are basically all the same concept but just different graphics ext..

    Some cards are no longer updated so the kernel will not play newly released games.

    The R4 card you bought is pretty decent for being a clone and it was just updated on 3.30.2010 so it could play the latest games like the new wario ware and pokemon games.A lot of the R4 clone cards can not play these games unless they use some other firmware(YSMenu) other then their original ones and some of the R4 clones can't even run YSMENU.

    I just bought a R4isdhc clone card from r4isdhc.com and the only firmware that works for it is its own which will not play any of the new games.So Instead of using that i ordered one from r4i-sdhc.com instead since its firmware is getting updated regularly it seems.

    Already put the first r4 clone i bought on craigslist so it shouldnt be long before its gone.

    EDIT: I normally use a cyclods card and its awesome but i bought the R4 since i now have two ds lites in my house and didn't feel like swapping the card between the two when someone wants to play.Also didn't feel like spending the $50 on another cyclods so i went with the cheaper R4 knockoff for $15
     
  7. JadeX

    Newcomer JadeX Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Hmmm... R4i-sdhc is the best R4 card around if you asked me .
    It's updated every month .
     
  8. Nano07
    OP

    Newcomer Nano07 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Argentina
    Thanks so much for your response icpmattj. I have things a bit more clear now.

    So, Do you think that it is worth trying to get YSMENU to work on this card or should I use the latest update that came out on 3.30.2010?
     
  9. Nano07
    OP

    Newcomer Nano07 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Argentina
    That's good to hear! So I didn't do that bad buy then....
     
  10. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    I'd just stick with the 3.30.2010 update
     
  11. bennyroger

    Member bennyroger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Norway
    For a clone its not bad, as this cards seems to have an active team to update this card. There is only 1 other R4 branded card that gets regular updates and that is www.r4rts.com
    But I agree with you on the menus of the R4 clones, doesn't look pretty in my eyes [​IMG]
     
  12. Nano07
    OP

    Newcomer Nano07 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Argentina
    yeh, they look terrible. Do you know if I can install any other menu than the official for this card? I've tried with YSMENU but couldn't make it work. [​IMG]
     
  13. bennyroger

    Member bennyroger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Norway
    I can test for you when the easter is over, I borrowed that card to my brothers step kids before easter along with an old DS , guess it could work with adjusted dstt menu as it seems like this card has elements of dstt hardware.
     
  14. Nano07
    OP

    Newcomer Nano07 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Argentina

    Great! Thanks Bennyroger! [​IMG]
     
  15. bennyroger

    Member bennyroger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Norway
    Had a look now, I can not alter the files to make it boot ttmenu, sorry, it does not seem like this card is 100% dstt compatible.
     
  16. laxman0220

    Member laxman0220 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    if that's the definition of a real card, then this card would be one..
     
  17. bennyroger

    Member bennyroger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Norway
    and its not like the other ripoff clones hardware wise either.....
    Maybe the hardware is a hybrid dstt/acekard? Or something else.........
     
  18. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why not get custom skins for your r4? or do you mean a completely different layout?
     
  19. Nano07
    OP

    Newcomer Nano07 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Argentina

    Yes, I was thinking of a different layout.

    Now, scrolling through games is a pain. Each time I go down a row, the icon scrolls from right to left, it's horrible
     

Share This Page