R4 Trouble... game freezing

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Euphoria, Oct 6, 2007.

Oct 6, 2007

R4 Trouble... game freezing by Euphoria at 7:15 PM (1,170 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Euphoria
    OP

    Newcomer Euphoria Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    My girlfriend purchased an R4 with 1GB Kingston MicroSD card from Dealextreme a couple of months ago and a couple weeks ago the memory card corrupted, along with that her games constantly crash in game.

    The newest culprit is Zelda : Phantom Hourglass which crashed on her about 30 minutes in, this happens way too frequently and I am not sure if it is the R4 or the MicroSD, I own an R4 with a 2gb Sandisk and I have no problems at all.

    I tried reformatting the card after it corrupted, but the crashing problem is still there, lost 15+ hours of work in "My Sims" due to it...

    Anyone know what I can do?
     
  2. hollabackitsobi

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    Bad memory card, get a new one.
     
  3. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    It could be the MicroSD reader she's using.

    What MicroSD reader are you using?

    ~If it's the older Readers that came with the R4 (Clear Black/Blue Color), then that would probably be the suspect.
     
  4. Euphoria
    OP

    Newcomer Euphoria Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    I usually use the USB adapter. It is silver and black. Every once in a while she uses the kingston MicroSD adapter.
     
  5. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Is this the MicroSD reader that came with your R4? If it isn't this one, then you got the older ones which corrupt/destroy MicroSDs.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Not true. Other flash carts that use Micro SDs, eg: EZFlash IV use a different adapter. So it cannot be adapter. Try getting a new memory card.
     
  7. lunatix

    Newcomer lunatix Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Can you format a corrupt micro sd? If you can try formatting the Micro sd
     
  8. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    The reader that came with the early batches of R4s did indeed corrupt your card.
     
  9. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    mine doesn't have the blinky red light o.o and its fine.. the one before that one is good, but the one before the one i have is the bad one..
     
  10. Switchy

    Member Switchy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    Belgium
    I used to have the same problem (with other games) and it solved itself when I sold my DS Phat and bought myself a DS Lite, so I think it COULD be the DS as well..

    Does she have the Phat?
     
  11. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    it's prolly the R4 losing connection with the DS. There are some methods to fixing it but i'm not a 100% sure on how to do it.
     
  12. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah it is the r4 contacts not connecting in the slot 1 my r4 was a bit lose. It happened to me try taping a postage sized piece of card/paper onto the front of the r4 sticker side.This fixed the freezing problem for me. The r4 was a bit lose in the slot.
     
  13. Jdbye

    Suspended Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Try to stick to using one of them, because that's most likely it based on my experiences.
    If not, it's probably the R4 reader, so maybe to be safe you should just use the kingston reader all the time.

    R4 losing connection with DS won't corrupt the microSD so that's probably not it.
     

Share This Page