R4 "touch" functionality broken?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Blackout, Jul 29, 2008.

Jul 29, 2008
  1. Blackout
    OP

    Member Blackout GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it just me or have recent versions of the R4 FW been negating the touch functionality? I'm running 1.18, but whenever I try to adjust brightness by touching the sun icon it doesn't work. Clicking the L button does however. Same deal with turning soft reset on/off, touching the icon doesn't have any effect, but clicking the R button does. This concerns me somehow in the fact that I can't customize my Moonshell settings from the top left hand drop down menu that pops up when you touch the icon. Is anyone else having this problem, and if they are, is there a way to fix it?

    (I ran an older version of the FW, 1.10 and the touch functionality worked, just recent versions [ex. 1.18])
     
  2. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    it may just be your touch screen is getting less sensitive in those areas
     
  3. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    try sakura hacked firmware made by the gbatempers

    (never knew r4ds main screen was touch-able)
     
  4. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    what difference will hacked sakura do it does not load games! and homebrew support is terrible! [​IMG]

    if it works with 1.10 then try installing 1.18 over the top of 1.10 [​IMG]
     
  5. Blackout
    OP

    Member Blackout GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Nope, 'cause all my other games work on it.
     
  6. Blackout
    OP

    Member Blackout GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    That's what I did, 'cause the newer versions of the FW don't give you the themes folder. After I installed it overtop 1.10, the touch functionality stopped working.
     
  7. Raestloz

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I think it's just your NDS. What games did you play and how did they use those areas?
     
  8. SonicRax

    Member SonicRax Egg-Mayo: The Movie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's quite weird... If the other games are working just fine too, the R4DS should have the touch functionality also. It can't be the firmware, because I'm running V1.18, and I get full touch-functionality. x_x

    It could be down to one of these following things: It may be the R4DS cart itself, unless it has touch with previous editions of Firmware, or it could be that you might be running one of the firmwares for the R4 clones, rather than the real cart.
     
  9. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    try my FULL working version here

    [​IMG]
     
  10. neoice

    Newcomer neoice Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Canada
    You need to make the themes folder yourself.
     
  11. Blackout
    OP

    Member Blackout GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, but the touch functionality still doesn't work. But strangely enough it works with older versions of the FW. o_0
     
  12. Blackout
    OP

    Member Blackout GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    It maybe the the cart itself, but that still doesn't explain the lack of touch on 1.18. It's highly unlikely that I have a clone or a fake, because I've owned my R4 since it released. (At the time I got it, I was running 1.05 FW)
     
  13. Blackout
    OP

    Member Blackout GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    It's not my DS, 'cause older FW touch works fine. I can touch the icons on the home screen, but beyond that, touch in Moonshell and in the Game browser doesn't work.

    Games work fine on my DS, no touch issues whatsoever.
     
  14. Raestloz

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Then maybe it's the cart, maybe there's a glitch in the cart that triggers this problem, as I'm running v.1.18 and it works fine.
     
  15. Blackout
    OP

    Member Blackout GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh dang, ah well. not having touch functionality won't affect my R4 usage would it? I don't use Moonshell at all (that's what an iPod is for =D), and Nintendo pretty much sued the R4 Team to oblivion, so no point in buying another one.
     

Share This Page