R4 to support SDHC

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by -KangaRod-, Oct 10, 2007.

Oct 10, 2007

R4 to support SDHC by -KangaRod- at 2:31 AM (3,583 Views / 0 Likes) 35 replies

  1. -KangaRod-
    OP

    Member -KangaRod- GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Country:
    Canada
    They are reporting on the mainpage that the next kernel for the R4 will enable SDHC support up to 32 gigs. How is that even possible?
    Isn't it like a CD-Rom drive magically being able to read DVD's through a software update?
     


  2. son2fu

    Newcomer son2fu Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    but isnt it just like a different format or code?
     
  3. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    It's possible just like the N-Card was possible, or what ever other cards were possible.
     
  4. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Its possible that they did have a way to flash the BIOS via software, but just haven't had any reason to use it up until now.
     
  5. springah

    Member springah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    or, adding "YOU NEED A MICROSD CARD TO INSTALL THIS UPDATE"?

    ie, whats stopping them from releasing software that you copy onto your microsd, running it within the R4 and, bam, SDHC support?
     
  6. -KangaRod-
    OP

    Member -KangaRod- GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Country:
    Canada
    cause I was under the impression that SDHC was different on a hardware level.
     
  7. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Well thats what I was saying above. The opposing possibility is that they didn't make any way to flash the BIOS, hoping they'd be able to get everything done with just kernel updates.
     
  8. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    Generally speaking, the type of asic they used is a one time programmable device. I hope this isn't the case, but I suspect it is.
     
  9. springah

    Member springah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  10. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think its very likely either, but that would be the only possibility that makes a software-based update plausible.
     
  11. springah

    Member springah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    couldn't possibly have the R4 'load' what it needs off.. hmm... damnit haha

    well hopfully there is a re-write option :/
     
  12. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    There's no saying they didnt make a way to flash the BIOS. Here is what it says on the m3 simply website:On the m3 simply box and website, it says: upgradeable Firmware ( OS / Bios / Kernel ). It and the r4 are the same. But it also may just be the same things, just said differently. Here is the site:
    http://www.m3adapter.com/M3DSS.htm
     
  13. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    I know. If you had read the preceeding posts, you would see that that was an opposing possibility to the one I spoke of beforehand.

    However, I wouldn't take that statement from the site to heart. Their engrish isn't the greatest.
     
  14. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    i dont care, im still happy it will support it [​IMG] YAY for next update [​IMG]
     
  15. MacGnG

    Member MacGnG GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Know Where
    Country:
    United States
    doesnt bother me as long as it works [​IMG]
     
  16. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    for many, updates are fun but they won't really use them like Wii-DS ... some don't have a Wii or for SDHC... ppl don't need it much ( esp 32gb )
     
  17. Wii_DS.

    Banned Wii_DS. ウォリアー

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    People are really, really wanting Ds - Wii feature.
     
  18. Kuro_Shinigami

    Newcomer Kuro_Shinigami Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    32 GB MicroSD cards don't exist. I think SanDisk is introducing 8GB ones pretty soon.

    I can imagine if you put movies, music, pics, games on there you can easily fill 8GB. People will find a way to use SDHC just like people have found a way to use 1TB HD's.
     
  19. NewBKaeK

    Newcomer NewBKaeK Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    32 GB MicroSD Cards dont exist YET =P
    I believe Toshiba is preparing to release a 16GB and a 32GB sometime in 2008.
     
  20. Infinitus

    Member Infinitus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    United States
    16GB Micro SDHC?

    I'm not going to lose $*** of tiny circuitry...
     

Share This Page