R4 theme set problem

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by granite123, Sep 1, 2007.

Sep 1, 2007

R4 theme set problem by granite123 at 8:54 PM (1,717 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. granite123
    OP

    Newcomer granite123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well to sum this topic up i asked over a QJ.NET and every one was stumped so here we go GBAtemp.
    When i got to press select to change theme nothing happens?
    I tryed re-installing the R4 OS
    Deleting the DS SYS thing
    i have done everything with no luck ....
    Please help me
     


  2. retman

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whats 'R4 OS' you mean Kernel, right?


    Anyways have you go it set like

    'theme01', 'theme02' etc..?

    Have you tried formating your Micro SD Card?
     
  3. granite123
    OP

    Newcomer granite123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have it set like that yes ...
    But how do i format an SD on UBUTU linux ?
     
  4. granite123
    OP

    Newcomer granite123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do i format it to FAT32 ?
     
  5. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Yup. I think FAT16 works as well(Can someone clarify this)
     
  6. Seven

    Member Seven oh hell no

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't matter, but FAT32 is generally only used for MicroSD cards with over 2GB capacity. I don't think many people have a 4GB card at the moment.
     
  7. granite123
    OP

    Newcomer granite123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use the 1GB card [​IMG]
     
  8. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a 2GB Card and a 1GB card. I think that it is more stable to use 2 x 2GB cards than one 4GB, but im not entirely sure...
     
  9. Seven

    Member Seven oh hell no

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure your microSD card goes in this order:

    - Root
    -- _system_
    --- themes
    ---- theme01, etc.
     
  10. granite123
    OP

    Newcomer granite123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Someone said that already anymore ideas [​IMG]
     
  11. zeppo

    Member zeppo change my avatar!

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    982
    Country:
    United States
    well... are the files in the theme folders named correctly? and you have to have the correct theme.ini files in each one... other than that idk.
     
  12. bowmessage

    Banned bowmessage Banned

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    4gb SDHC doesn't work on an R4, but they do on Cyclo DS.
     
  13. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    are you sure you put themes in it [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  14. scutato

    Newcomer scutato Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Good you mentioned you're using Ubuntu. If you're using Mac or UNIX, you have to specify the directories like this:

    _SYSTEM_
    - THEMES
    -- THEME01
    -- THEME02

    Etc. Good luck [​IMG]
     
  15. granite123
    OP

    Newcomer granite123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have themes they are set out right it just wont work !!!!
     
  16. Seven

    Member Seven oh hell no

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    Could you please take a screenshot of your root directory just in case? I've had numerous friends who had a bunch of stuff lying in it and apparently another folder was holding the _system_ folder which should be in the root.

    EDIT: Try this!

     
  17. zorgrage

    Newcomer zorgrage Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    France
    bad post sorry
     
  18. springah

    Member springah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    dude, i have the EXACT SAME PROBLEM.

    found a fix tho [​IMG]

    format in fat32 on windows. it'll fix. something in ubuntu seems to break... well, something! everything works fine except themes..

    msn or email me, we'll work it out..
     
  19. granite123
    OP

    Newcomer granite123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay i will
    Who would have thought that Ubuntu would do it [​IMG]
    I still love my UBUNTU though
     
  20. granite123
    OP

    Newcomer granite123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    got it working now i cant set custom ones [​IMG] pushing select to
     

Share This Page