R4 sleeping bug discovered (VIDEO)

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by ron555, Feb 10, 2007.

Feb 10, 2007
  1. ron555
    OP

    Member ron555 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:


  2. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    i have my nds in sleep mode lots of time i never had this problem
     
  3. GameGeezer

    Member GameGeezer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    Someone please wake up the bug.


    (Sorry couldn't resist) [​IMG]
     
  4. R-Unit 4

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    old...had this prob after sleeping for more than half an hour...
     
  5. ron555
    OP

    Member ron555 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    I think I've narrowed it down to the EZ-Flash IV. When it's inside of Slot-2, I sometimes have problems.
     
  6. 7dev7null

    Newcomer 7dev7null Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Haven't seen the video, but from the description of it, I have the same problem only with Advance Wars DS. I've got a EFA Linker II in slot 2, so dunno if it's related [​IMG]
     
  7. ron555
    OP

    Member ron555 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Interesting, 7dev7null.

    So the plot thickens. Can you try it without the EFA Linker II?
     
  8. 7dev7null

    Newcomer 7dev7null Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Ok, now I saw the video, and it's exactly what happens. And just tested it without EFA... interestingly enough, it fixes the problem [​IMG] I've tested taking it off during the game too, and works the same way... magic! When I put it back, the bug's back [​IMG]
     
  9. Icarus

    Member Icarus fire walk with me

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    Big Appleu
    Country:
    United States
    I put my ds in sleep mode lots of time but I never had a problem like this..
     
  10. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    What's good about sleeping? Doesn't it use up battery?
     
  11. 111111111

    Member 111111111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    in a game without frequent save points you can just close the lid if you need to do something else for a while (get off a bus/train, run to the shop for some bogroll when you've been playing on the shitter & realise there is nothing to wipe with :> ) without it eating your battery up.

    It does still use battery, but a lot less than running at full power.
     
  12. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why don't you put the file on youtube? instead of putting on sendspace as not that much people can download the file due to proxies with their ISP.
     
  13. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    If the problem is what I believe you say it is, it reminds me of the flashme sleep "bug" where if you don't have a cart in, it'll flicker... but that is a different reason as yours is somehow linked to your slot 2... strange
     
  14. ron555
    OP

    Member ron555 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    The video is in MP4 format (AVS, H264); youtube won''t accept it.
     
  15. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    I've had the same problem before.

    However, I've never put a cartridge on Slot-2 so that's definitely not the case.

    When the bug happened to me, I would soft reset, choose another game (didn't matter which) and even that game would have the sleeping bug.

    I powered off, back on, and still had the same bug.

    It was only when I removed the R4 from the cartridge slot, and then reinserted it, did it start sleeping again properly -- it's been sleeping for over 5 hours without one wakeup, so the length of time that it sleeps is not an issue.

    Bug report to R4 [​IMG]

    --Henry
     
  16. dOoBiX

    Banned dOoBiX Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
  17. kemosabe

    Member kemosabe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    Germany
    i had a similar problem a few days ago.
    i was playing lunar knights and i closed the ds to take a break, but after i opened the ds again the game froze and i had to do a restart
     
  18. ron555
    OP

    Member ron555 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Cool. Thanks.

    OK, for the people having problems -- can you post up your setup? Here's mine

    Nintendo DS Lite
    Flashme v7
    Slot 1 = R4 (latest firmware)
    Slot 2 = EZ IV Deluxe Lite (latest firmware)
    Cory's Header patch for the EZ IV Deluxe

    What could be causing this?
     
  19. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DS lite
    Flashme v7
    Slot 1 = R4
    Slot 2 = Supercard lite

    I've never had problems with the sleep mode. Maybe it could have something to do with Cory's Header patch. Can't see how though.
     
  20. darquarma

    Newcomer darquarma Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Malaysia
    From my limited knowledge about how the DS works, I believe that there are 2 connectors on the DS cart (and R4 cart) that allows the DS to sleep properly. Cleaning these connectors should solve the sleep problem, methinks.
     

Share This Page