1. Semaj

    OP Semaj Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have been trying to set up my 3DS to work with my old R4 cart that I found in a draw. Would be good to use it as a media player so I don't have to use up any SD card space
    and of course it would be great to play NDS and GBA roms. Trying to create the ultimate hacked 3DS set up and that empty slot 1 just feels odd to me.

    Getting the card to work was difficult enough as some sites say its a clone, didnt seam to work with official firmware as was trapped on loading screens (but tbh didnt have the box with a download link), and wasn't working but now I have YS menu and it goes into the main r4 (ysmenu?) menu on an orginal DS. I am considering buying a more up to date R4 however as it's now its working on a DS I guess its worth giving it a try. On the DS it's fine but unnoticed on the 3ds. (however NTR does notice that a cartridge is entered, i just get white screens) so i'm pretty sure its not a contact issue.

    however using NTR launcher, ttds , wood r4 and TWiLight Menu++ Don't seam to be having much luck. Photos included of Cart to support post.

    anyone have any experience with this card? ideas or solutions greatly appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,170
    Country:
    United States
    Dumb question, but are you running custom firmware? I ask because this sounds like a case of cart blacklisting.
     
  3. Semaj

    OP Semaj Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I followed the guide from
    3ds.hacks.guide

    Im able to install cia file's. Have FBI installed/gm9 far as i know its custom firmware.

    I just had a brainwave im going to try updating luma the only thing I haven't done and try a normal ds game. Will post results of that in a bit.

    Thats what im thinking as it works on original ds. But doesn't ntr launcher act as if original ds ?
     
  4. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,170
    Country:
    United States
  5. Semaj

    OP Semaj Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tested Brain Training DS game and worked fine, even showed up on the main menu. Defiantly an issue with recognising the R4. Updated luma launcher, everythings up to date..

    Does that rule out TWLNAND being broken ?
     
  6. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,170
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. Did you also install the whitelist CIA? If so, then it's the kernel that you're using for the cartridge.
     
  7. Semaj

    OP Semaj Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Think you might be on to something as i'm not sure what you mean by whitelist CIA?
     
  8. Semaj

    OP Semaj Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :unsure: Installed Nintendo DS Cart Whitelist - v11264.cia from 3ds.hacks no luck..
     
  9. Tasev

    Tasev Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Please tell me how and what to install. I can't install it also.
     
  10. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,385
    Country:
    United States
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - DS]+YSMenu+3DS, [Revolution, Firmware