R4 SDHC Help (noob)

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by MutatedGamer, Dec 29, 2009.

Dec 29, 2009

R4 SDHC Help (noob) by MutatedGamer at 3:28 PM (1,893 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. MutatedGamer
    OP

    Newcomer MutatedGamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    so i got my r4 after all, but i cant figure out how to set it up! It came without kernel, so i downloaded it from r4i-sdhc.com and put the folders and dat onto the root.

    when i launch it from the dsi, all i get is a white screen. i will be posting a video on youtube showing you what i am doing and what happens. Any ideas or tuts for a nub?
     
  2. MutatedGamer
    OP

    Newcomer MutatedGamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
  3. MutatedGamer
    OP

    Newcomer MutatedGamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    i even tried ysmenu and it still happens D:

    oh and bump -.-
     
  4. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Fresh™

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    You could always go to the website named on the box or possibly even on the front of the flashcart sticker itself instead of downloading random firmwares and wondering why it doesn't work.
     
  5. MutatedGamer
    OP

    Newcomer MutatedGamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    dude on the r4 it says r4i-sdhc.cm.hk on it. hk for hong kong, so i changed to english. So its the official FW. But the place i ordered from sent me a clone, as shown in this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z42usA_yvGQ
     
  6. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Fresh™

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    If you're getting a white screen after selecting it from the DSi menu, you are using the wrong firmware.

    If it were meant to use firmware directly from www.r4i-sdhc.com, it would give that exact web address (like it does on my cart).

    ALL R4i carts are clones. The only real R4 can't use SDHC microSD cards, and is extremely outdated.
     
  7. outgum

    Member outgum Pokemanz Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Pretty much, injected is exactly right, cause ive learnt a few things from him XD

    The only thing i can suggest IS get the one of the Hong kong one, ill post a pic of what one you should get.

    EDIT:
    [​IMG]

    Just a tip... Unless you get YSMENU, you should always use the EXACT website address that comes with the card to get the right firmware, if its a Hong Kong site, Translate it, cause thats how crap works these days.

    www.r4i-sdhc.com.hk/downloade.htm
    Note that my page is translated, if yours isnt, try work it down, could the spaces in my picture and then count the ones in... Hong Kongnese XD

    EDIT2: You paid 40$ for that thing O_O You could of gone to dealextreme and got one for 10$ O_O
    Al R4 cards are clones as injected stated, so if you plan on getting a real one.... good luck with that, I have a clone R4, and it works perfectly, Most people who HAVE an r4 have clones, IMO there better than the official carts because the official carts dont get updated anymore. only the clones, So i stay stick with your clone cause the next Card you get (If its an R4) Will be a clone also. Follow my instructions for your firmware, its not hard, if you get stuck let me now, and ill help you out somemore
     
  8. MutatedGamer
    OP

    Newcomer MutatedGamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    got firmware. any chance game engine will work on my card o.O
     
  9. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Fresh™

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    None.
     
  10. MutatedGamer
    OP

    Newcomer MutatedGamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    me and my friend are going to buy a SDHC from a diff website. can anyone confirm r4i.co.uk is a good website?
     
  11. neokingster

    Newcomer neokingster Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its a good site but buy an acekard 2i and if u are ordering from there, check for deal codes first.
    [​IMG]
     
  12. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    Christ! 40 bucks?!

    Stop going for R4s. Really. Stop. Get a good cart.
     
  13. MutatedGamer
    OP

    Newcomer MutatedGamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    just got an acekard 2i from gamekool [​IMG]
     
  14. fairlyevenparents

    Member fairlyevenparents GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States

    good acekard2's are a lot better then some fake r4 clone, if your having trouble setting it up use this as a guild some what...


    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=154624


    EDIT: Use akaio, it's way better then the official filmware
     
  15. MutatedGamer
    OP

    Newcomer MutatedGamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    it will take some time to get it in the mail, but because im a AK noob, whats akaio?
     
  16. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Fresh™

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    AKAIO = AceKard All In One. Custom-made, very well supported firmware for Acekards. I'd advise you to start reading through the Acekard forum before it arrives.
     
  17. MutatedGamer
    OP

    Newcomer MutatedGamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    (Edited to have nothing on it.)
     
  18. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Before you start spreading it around you should ask Normmatt and Smiths for permission first.
     
  19. MutatedGamer
    OP

    Newcomer MutatedGamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i wasnt trying to spread it out, i was just saying if anyone needed it or knew someone who needed it. didnt want to make a big deal. sorry if it sounded that way.

    huh maybe i will ask him. =D wish me luck.
     

Share This Page