R4 SAVES HELP

ImJhon

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 6, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
11
Country
Italy
Hi, i really need help about r4 rom saves. I'm talking about pokemon saves. Everytime i play and then save a game, cannot access it and have to delete the sav file from the PC and restart again. Even if i changed sd card, firmware ecc nothing happened, when i try to join my save from pokemon menu or delete it, it freeze into black screen and i have to close everything and return to the main menu. I play on a nintendo 3ds with r4 gold pro)
 

ImJhon

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 6, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
11
Country
Italy
Does the ROM work normally on a DS emulator? If not, it could be a bad dump. It it does, try installing WoodR4 and/or Yasu Menu.
How can i check if the rom is corrupted? With desmume? Ill try it, but this happens even with other Pokémon rom
 

ImJhon

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 6, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
11
Country
Italy
if it does the same thing there. Have ya also tried different copies of the games in question? Do they all do the same thing?
I tried Pokémon pearl and soul silver from different website , and they do the same things.. Should i try to install woods?
 

ImJhon

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 6, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
11
Country
Italy
Pls, i found no solutions.... i noticed that in other games saves are OK, idk only in pokemon are ruined... i switched to wood and ysmenu, nothing happened.... idk wtd
 

JaapDaniels

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
815
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
1,431
Country
Netherlands
Pls, i found no solutions.... i noticed that in other games saves are OK, idk only in pokemon are ruined... i switched to wood and ysmenu, nothing happened.... idk wtd
there are 2 types of savegame:
  • RTC savestate, wich only can be read back if your cartridge is designed for it, it's not just software, and it might still get corrupted with some moments in the game. on consoles like snes it's even worse, some special chips make RTC impossible on real hardware. this is a save moment not designed for the game but in the flashcard.
    RTC savestate saves the register states, all of them. but some might trigger DRM, or are in movement so it breaks stuff while reproducing this moment (halfway saving the registers might have moved on wich makes an impossible reproduced state)
  • the in game savesystem is a battery save, it is the way of saving designed in the game, and in most games you can only save this way on certain spots, this is because these spots don't have the in move moments like movingcharacters, only the coordinate in game (could even be a label), your stats, collected stuff and used time are stored. music moment or movement information is dismissed since it's inrelevant on this spot.
 

ImJhon

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 6, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
11
Country
Italy
G
there are 2 types of savegame:
  • RTC savestate, wich only can be read back if your cartridge is designed for it, it's not just software, and it might still get corrupted with some moments in the game. on consoles like snes it's even worse, some special chips make RTC impossible on real hardware. this is a save moment not designed for the game but in the flashcard.
    RTC savestate saves the register states, all of them. but some might trigger DRM, or are in movement so it breaks stuff while reproducing this moment (halfway saving the registers might have moved on wich makes an impossible reproduced state)
  • the in game savesystem is a battery save, it is the way of saving designed in the game, and in most games you can only save this way on certain spots, this is because these spots don't have the in move moments like movingcharacters, only the coordinate in game (could even be a label), your stats, collected stuff and used time are stored. music moment or movement information is dismissed since it's inrelevant on this spot.
thank un really much for the info. So, i'll try to delete the save file and to create realtimesave ( the save system file was my problem). And also i'll try to save in a different spot than the starting house.. Also i'll not press anything when saving so nothing cane happen. .. Any other suggestion to patch savesystem files?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG: lol