R4 & M3 2nd Batch PCB Redesigned

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Opium, Jan 22, 2007.

Jan 22, 2007

R4 & M3 2nd Batch PCB Redesigned by Opium at 7:35 AM (4,304 Views / 0 Likes) 28 replies

  1. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia







    R4 & M3 2nd Batch PCB Redesigned

    Switching between R4 & M3 no longer possible








    [​IMG]


    Switching between the R4 DS and M3 Simply with a little bit of solder will no longer possible if you buy the redesigned second batch of the cards.



    A member from the SCDev.org forums outlines the changes between the two batches:


    Thanks to skfields01 for the tip!



    [​IMG] Source


     


  2. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    i got a 1st batch R4ds with 2nd batch goodies lol kinda glad keychain looks kinda ugly lol

    i got a cool blue strap !

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    lol, I like the keychain [​IMG] I don't even have any games to put in the holder and I still put it on my keyring ;p

    [​IMG]
     
  4. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    So did I this morning. [​IMG]
     
  5. edmundt

    Newcomer edmundt Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Here's a pic:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Hairy

    Newcomer Hairy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Dang, if only theyd replace our 1st Gen MicroSD readers for free [​IMG]
     
  7. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    man, this R4 is looking pretty good! its tempting me to buy a slot 1 card...
     
  8. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The only reason to redesign them would have been the M3s profit margins.
     
  9. H8TR

    Member H8TR GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    t-Dot
    Country:
    Canada
    So happy I got first batch. I'm pretty sure I got the first of Divineo China's first batch.
     
  10. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Definitely. Also R4 seem to be using the same cheaper crystal too that the M3s were made with. Can someone post a reverse side view of the PCB please?
     
  11. T-hug

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm glad the card reader has been replaced, the one I got with m3 simply is a piece of crap and is already in bits.
     
  12. 111111111

    Member 111111111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    Seems you got a mixture - the sd reader is old batch, as is the r4 but the strap is from the new batch.
     
  13. 5uck3rpunch

    Member 5uck3rpunch Surf Monster!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Texas - USA
    Country:
    United States
    I ordered mine a week & a day ago from GamerSection.ca. Do you think I will get the new version?
     
  14. wuka

    Newcomer wuka Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    It sounds like if you're desperate though, you can lift the black blob thing (is that possible?) and solder directly on the chip's feet.
     
  15. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that "black blob" fully surrounds the IC. There's no way you can lift it off lol!
    basically it's cheaper to make a housing in the shade of ermm "black blob" than it is for a standard chip. you have them in pocket calculators that cost 99pence etc. and the connectors that connect them to the PCB are extremely thin (think hair thin)
     
  16. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    100% right, to a degree... the connectors on the chip under that goop (some type of epoxy) have to be connected at manufacture before the goop is applied, and generally all points of the chip are connected to a trace (with smaller than hair wires) stencil that looks like the footprint of a normal chip (even if the connected trace doesn't extend beyond the goop). With a bit of heat (well, quite a bit actually) and a sharp knife it should be possible to remove a bit of that resin to expose that trace stencil (without cutting into the wire, I'd hope).

    Wish I had a better camera, I'd have the perfect image to show what I mean.

    edit:/ just thought I'd point out exactly how funny I find it that M3 would hack the DS to bits to do whatever the customer wants, then region lock their cards and take wrather serious offense and make further effort to try and keep their devices from doing whatever the customers want it to do. It seems mainly to squeeze an extra $5 out of english speaking people and not give any real value in return for paying more but not speaking Chinese...
     
  17. jhoff80

    Member jhoff80 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe its because I'm using Vista, but Windows doesn't find drivers for the new card reader for me.
     
  18. DrKupo

    Banned DrKupo Resistance: Fall of Gbatemp

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    734
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Country:
    United States
    They can go take their flashcart and shove it the fuck up their ass!
     
  19. openchip

    Newcomer openchip Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    M3/R4 first PCB batch had packaged ASIC IC',s second and 3rd batch are using "die-bonding", eg the silicon is connected to PCB with 'bond wires' and covered up with epoxy. It saves the silicon packaging costs.

    The epoxy coating can not be removed by mechanical means, but there are chemical's that can take it off, some hazardous things used for chip "fibbing" where part of plastic package is etched off and the die is post patched to fix silicon errors.

    not much things todo at home [​IMG]
     
  20. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    Die-bonding... I looked for about 10 minutes and couldn't come up with a name for it (closest I got was "flip-chip").

    I was thinking more along the lines of a 250-300 degree iron and a good little knife to remove the outer edge of the epoxy to get at the very edge of the template... to provide the trace they removed. If one knew what that chip was (custom jobbie?) it might be much simpler to replace it with one that is in a package via a heat gun and a good knife.
     

Share This Page