R4 III Upgrade Pokemon B/W Newbie guide

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Chuckie94, Apr 8, 2011.

Apr 8, 2011
  1. Chuckie94
    OP

    Newcomer Chuckie94 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi all,

    I understand that many people are asking questions in regards to installing Pokemon B/W on R4's.

    Unfortunately i don't have such an intricate knowledge of R4's like many people do

    So i was wondering if anyone would have a link or be even kind enough to provide a step by step guide to installing Pokemon B/W on a R4 III upgrade.

    Currently the rom is on the R4 however all i get is a permanent white screen once the game loads

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers,

    Chuckie94
     
  2. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Its pretty easy... Since the R4i III is an Acekard clone... So you can install AKAIO 1.8.1 on it, then use a patched rom.
    Its easy to patch a rom, you just make a folder and put the "gamelist.txt",the patch and "*ROM_NAME*.nds" into it. Then just drag the ROM onto the patch and you'll get a patched rom.
     
  3. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,811
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
  4. Chuckie94
    OP

    Newcomer Chuckie94 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for the help much appreciated,

    I was unable to get AKAIO to work however YSMenu did.

    My only issue is that now i receive the following error code

    [Rom loading failed]

    load room errcode=-4

    Please reset system


    Thanks,

    Chuckie94
     
  5. trigao

    Member trigao GBAtemp Tiger

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    626
    Country:
    Brazil
    if you are using the RGF ysmenu v6.56.... dont use a patched rom... use a CLEAN version
     
  6. Nebz

    Member Nebz The N00b

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    This

    I don't know what he was saying about using AKAIO or whatever but ummmm... Don't bother with that.

    I own an R4 III Upgrade. IIRC, the last update to it was v3.13 or something of the sort before the came out with the R4IIIi Upgrade or whatever it's called... And I suggest using the YSMenu which can be found in RetroGameFan's topic.
    Just follow the instructions in the R4_Clone Folder and you should be god to go [​IMG]

    EDIT: http://gbatemp.net/t267243-retrogamefan-up...t&p=3296004
    Here ya go

    I've used the YSMenu with my clean copies of Pokemon White and Black (std-pokemonblack.rar and std-pokemonwhite.rar) and have had no issues.
     
  7. Chuckie94
    OP

    Newcomer Chuckie94 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Australia
    IT WORKS!!!!

    Big thanks to everyone for posting info

    Thanks again!!

    So happy haha
     

Share This Page