R4 flash card question

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by vt102, Jun 13, 2008.

Jun 13, 2008

R4 flash card question by vt102 at 2:40 AM (1,786 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. vt102
    OP

    Newcomer vt102 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Hello. Quick question here, a friend of mine has a R4 flash card, but there is no slot for a micro sd card. How do you add or remove anything from it? Please let me know. If an adapter is needed, how do I get one? Thanks in advance. [​IMG]
     
  2. Brocktree

    Member Brocktree GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    Australia
    No slot at the back to slide the sd card in and pull it out?
    Then it's not a R4?
    If you could post a picture of it would be nice.
    Other than that i dont know...
     
  3. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Quite certain he got the fake R4/NCard clone.
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like it's actually an N-Card clone, some people were selling those as R4s a while back. If that's correct, it has internal flash memory and you need a USB thingy that goes in the GBA slot to connect it to the computer and transfer files to it. I don't know if you can get the USB thingy seperately.
     
  5. vt102
    OP

    Newcomer vt102 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Fake huh? Damn...... that sucks. I guess he has to update to a new cart. [​IMG]
     
  6. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Does it look like this?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  7. vt102
    OP

    Newcomer vt102 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Also, the menu looks weird, on the top screen, it says ds link. ?!?!?!? I guess it is a fake?
     
  8. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Must be a DS link with the R4 sticker pasted on it. Too bad.
    EDIT: Wait, Doesn't DS Link Use Micro SD?!?!
     
  9. vt102
    OP

    Newcomer vt102 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    DS link looks like it also runs off of the micor SD card. [​IMG]
     
  10. vt102
    OP

    Newcomer vt102 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Also my firend was saying that he used to insert the flash card into the computer, he did not mention anything about linking up a wire to the GBA slot. Hmmmm......
     
  11. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    An N-card clone with a DS-link GUI????????????? Maybe...
     
  12. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    ferrariman: The DSLink and the DS Linker are two different carts. The DS Linker is an N-Card clone.


    vt102: He probably has something like this: http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.10159

    It's an N-Card clone, but it uses a different type of USB thingy.
     
  13. vt102
    OP

    Newcomer vt102 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Probably. Looks like it might be similar to that one.
     
  14. vt102
    OP

    Newcomer vt102 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Here are pics of the card and the main menu.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    a-yup. NCard clone.
     
  16. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, that's an N-Card clone. Any N-Card USB thingy should work if you can find one.
     
  17. vt102
    OP

    Newcomer vt102 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    So how do I load and unload off the card?

    Posts merged

    And how do I get a reader?
     

Share This Page