R4 Firmware version 1.00

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by chuckstudios, Jan 14, 2007.

Jan 14, 2007

R4 Firmware version 1.00 by chuckstudios at 3:09 AM (2,033 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. chuckstudios
    OP

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys,

    I have figured out a way to softmod a M3 Simply or R4 into each other (no soldering). However, I need v1.00 of the R4 firmware to proceed. Please help!
     
  2. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    Im intrigued, care to share what you have in mind?
    I might have the early firmware in the cd I got with it. So unless someone shares it by tommorow, i'll check.
     
  3. chuckstudios
    OP

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    It's not "have in mind" - it's more like "have done, but needs perfection".

    I have gotten R4DS v1.05 to run on my M3 DS Simply, BUT .nds launching does not work. With v1.00, the two firmwares will have the most in common and I should be able to make it perfect.
     
  4. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    So you basically are not making an R4 into a M3 simply and vice versa. But you are editing so the firmwares will work for each other? Wouldn't it make it somewhat limited, I mean... You would have to repeat the whole process in researching everytime a new update comes right? I only see this benefitting the M3 simply users, since they are the ones with slower updates.
     
  5. chuckstudios
    OP

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Not if my theory is correct. The "research" for new firmwares would only involve a few mouse clicks. [​IMG]
     
  6. digital_sin

    Member digital_sin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Egypt
    i'm wondering how version 1.0 would help? as far as i understand

    1.01M3=1.05R4
    1.00M3=1.04R4

    which propably means that;
    1.0R4= something beta on the M3 which wasn't released to the public (0.X)

    what are you going to compare 1.0 to?
     
  7. chuckstudios
    OP

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Ahh, 1.04 of R4 was the release version? Then that's the one I need.
     
  8. hmvh1

    Newcomer hmvh1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
  9. ryuken

    Newcomer ryuken Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    i can't wait till u release a patch or tutorial on the softmod cuz i can't solder my m3 to turn it into r4. so.. does m3 just edit the firmware from r4 to make it work with the m3 simply, is that y they're slower in firmware updates?
     
  10. digital_sin

    Member digital_sin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Egypt
    It's either that, or the R4 team are the ones that are releasing the M3 firmware too.
     
  11. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I think M3 just waits until a final version of the new firmware is available and rebrands it.
     
  12. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Okay so what you are doing is exchanging the code around offset 00005D40 in the binary. Just say that in stead of saying this half noted things. All you are doing is a binary compare and then exchange code.
     
  13. Kyuzumaki

    Member Kyuzumaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i posted a byte comparitor tool in the homebrew forums.
     
  14. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No need, the offset is known.
     
  15. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the chinese already did this 2 or 3 weeks ago didn't they?
     
  16. kennyboy

    Member kennyboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Singapore
    so it works?

    not that i'll change my more updated R4 for the simply yet.
     

Share This Page