r4 ds v1.10 update

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by grapperus, Jun 20, 2007.

Jun 20, 2007

r4 ds v1.10 update by grapperus at 7:09 PM (5,459 Views / 0 Likes) 36 replies

  1. grapperus
    OP

    Newcomer grapperus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    do anyone know what features are on the new firmware just installed it and was wondering what does the r in the top right corner which changes to red and green
     


  2. gottysports

    Newcomer gottysports Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    was in 1.09
     
  3. fenthwick

    Member fenthwick GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    Sweden
    Update R4 v1.10 kernel 2007-6-20
    1) DLDI auto-patching
    2) Solved the 1111 and 1151 save problem.

    The thing with the red/green R thing indicates if soft reset is enabled(Changed with the R button..duh ;P). If green you can use L+R+A+B+X+Y in a game to go back to the R4 menu.
     
  4. Jawas

    Member Jawas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    always seen that little R, never knew what it meant, useful, Thanks.
     
  5. xtreme_power

    Member xtreme_power GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Australia
    hey guys i'm extremely dumb, just wondering how do you update the firmware, i have never done it before
     
  6. Jim~

    Member Jim~ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    Download. Extract. Copy. Paste.
     
  7. iq_132

    Member iq_132 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    delete the _DS_MENU.DAT and _DS_MENU.SYS, download the new firmware and put it on the SD card.
     
  8. xtreme_power

    Member xtreme_power GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Australia
    oh thanks [​IMG]

    so simple
     
  9. xtreme_power

    Member xtreme_power GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Australia
    "DS_MENU.DAT and _DS_MENU.SYS"

    are you sure? because when i extract the file there is only ds_menu.dat and ds_mshl.nds
     
  10. iq_132

    Member iq_132 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. _DS_MENU.SYS is created after you start the firmware for the first time.
    Just overwrite ds_mshl.nds
     
  11. xtreme_power

    Member xtreme_power GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks iq_132

    Just wondering what's the use of this DLDI auto-patching thing?
     
  12. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    To automatically patch homebrew.
     
  13. xtreme_power

    Member xtreme_power GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Australia
    but how is that done, r4 doesn't connect to online
     
  14. iq_132

    Member iq_132 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't need to go online for that. It simply checks for markers in the file that identify it as needing DLDI patching.
     
  15. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Is English version out too? I was about to get Chinese version because I could only find one.
     
  16. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
  17. iwakura

    Member iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    hey guys, im using the chinese version so i may not be able to get much help, but zelda: PH is freezing on me as soon as i get on the boat. anyone else have that problem? did i just get a bad dump?

    ...haha. "bad dump."
     
  18. yukine

    Member yukine GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Arizona
    Country:
    United States
    So how is 1.10 so far? I'm still using 1.08 as I read that 1.09 broke a few games, and had some other various problems.
     
  19. PuyoDead

    Member PuyoDead Hey! Hey! Oh!

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Am I the only one whose game list is no longer alphabetized?
     
  20. iwakura

    Member iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    confirmed! chinese 1.10 crashes after getting on the boat.
     

Share This Page