R4 DS Questions

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Gullwing, Dec 8, 2007.

Dec 8, 2007

R4 DS Questions by Gullwing at 7:02 PM (1,070 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Gullwing
    OP

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    I have to make 3 questions for the R4 :
    *1:Does the R4 supports Standby mode(Close the NDS(two sides of it))?
    *2:Can the roms save without any problem/danger?
    *3:The updates are Complicated to be made?
     
  2. SuperGeek

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    1. Yes.

    2. AFAIK, yes. Never had any problems saving under 1.13 and 1.12.

    3. To update is simple. Delete the 2 directories and 2 files included in the previous update, and add the files for the newest one on your flashcart. It takes 20 seconds, it's pretty fast.
     
  3. perkele

    Member perkele GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Finland
    yes, yes, no
     
  4. zeppo

    Member zeppo change my avatar!

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    982
    Country:
    United States
    Lockerdoodles now?
     
  5. SuperGeek

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Lockerdoodles indeed.
     
  6. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    yes-but drains battery like nuts relative to normal standby

    yes-and if you couple your R4 with a 3in1, you can backup your original DS carts and... send OR retrieve your save from the original cart. Pirate no more!

    maybe-you'll need to copy a few loader files for the R4 to work. that's pretty much it. no dangerous flashing and no physical poking or prodding.
     
  7. vincom2

    Newcomer vincom2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Singapore
    You can backup carts over wifi too, although it's obscenely slow.
     
  8. elfsander

    Member elfsander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ah well, the slowness of WiFi backup isn't really a problem, just hook your DS to the adapter and have an hour of two of patience.
     

Share This Page