R4 and EZ Flash 5 3-in-1 help!!

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by imyourxpan, Jun 27, 2007.

Jun 27, 2007
  1. imyourxpan
    OP

    Member imyourxpan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I just bought an Ezflash V 3-in-1 expansion pack and I really want to try out some gba games and the NDS browser. I don't understand how to work it. I have an R4 with the latest update. what do i do???

    I know there are topics about this, but the search is finding nothing for me and some are confusing me a lot. thank you!!!
     


  2. sipoon

    Member sipoon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Rudolph's 3in1 software ver 1.9...qjuick!! go look in downloads now!!
     
  3. cheapassdave

    Member cheapassdave GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    i searched through this forum and i got it to work....today when i got it. IM HAPPY
     
  4. imyourxpan
    OP

    Member imyourxpan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    wooo thank you, lol i found the new update like 10 mins after posting my topic. it works, but idk how to get the gba games to work. do i put them in a special folder? i have them in the root, but it says it can't find them. :-/
     
  5. pristinemog

    Member pristinemog GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Country:
    United States
    In the root of your microsd card, make a folder called GBA. This is where the GBA games go. In that folder, make another folder called SAVE. This is where the saves will be backed up to when switching games, etc. You'll need to patch the GBA ROMs with the EZ4 client first so that they'll save properly.
     
  6. O.G

    Newcomer O.G Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Make a folder on the root called "GBA" without the quotes. The next is to make a "SAVE" without the quotes. Put all your GBA games inside the "GBA" folder, and run them.
     
  7. imyourxpan
    OP

    Member imyourxpan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    where can i download the ez4 client? wow i'm majorly confused...lol...i tried downloading the files but they are .v7 files...??? the games work, but they don't save. at least i don't know how to save or whatnot.

    thank you for your help though! [​IMG]
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
  9. imyourxpan
    OP

    Member imyourxpan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    thank you!!!
     
  10. imyourxpan
    OP

    Member imyourxpan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    oh, okay so now it saves and stuff, but will it delete the file when i want to save in a different game? do i have to back it up or something? i'm not sure of this. sorry :'( i'm just new with the 3-in-1...
     
  11. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It should automatically write the save that's currently in SRAM to the save file when you load a different game.
     
  12. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
  13. ssoccerh

    Member ssoccerh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    yes you made a good choice

    the 3 in 1 is a really good add on to the r4
     
  14. Dunny

    Member Dunny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've recently done some testing for this, and it's not the case in v1.9 - you have to backup your current SRAM to the .SAV file before you load a new ROM (option for button B on the menu). However, I have had saves lost even when backing up every time so beware :-(

    It would be very nice if the software would back up automatically when you load a new ROM, and I can't understand why it's left to the user to do it.

    D.
     
  15. poloman

    Member poloman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i use gba loader v1 as opposed to the rudolph one. havent tried the rudolph one as gba loader works perfectly - auto backs up as well as writes the saves when you change games.

    (ive got an m3 as well as r4)
     
  16. Gim

    Newcomer Gim Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    does anyone know if it is the same process to make the new version of the ez flash 5 3 in 1 (for old fat ds) work? want to check before i buy

    thanks
     
  17. Dunny

    Member Dunny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You got a link to that anywhere? I'd not mind trying it out, but I can only find links to GBA loader 0.1 and TR7.

    D.
     
  18. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    There is no GBALdr v1, just 0.1. Here's the official release thread: http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?t=4749

    If you're having problems with the 3in1 Expansion Pack Tool v1.9, try version 1.8. It seemed a bit more stable to me.

    If you only want to write games to NOR (and not play games from PSRAM), use GBALdr. It's better than any version of the 3in1 Expansion Pack Tool for managing games in NOR.
     
  19. Xelia

    Newcomer Xelia Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Can the 3 in 1 expansion only play GBA games? Or can I put homebrew like Moonshell onto it too?
     
  20. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    IIRC you can put GBA homebrew (.ds.gba or something) on it. Like goomba and stuff
     

Share This Page