R4 and 4GB micro SD

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Supah Eirian, Jan 15, 2008.

Jan 15, 2008

R4 and 4GB micro SD by Supah Eirian at 9:00 PM (1,640 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Supah Eirian
    OP

    Newcomer Supah Eirian Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 1GB card. I can't remember if a 4GB card works, or if the largest the R4 will support is 2GB. Anyone know?
     
  2. SavageWaffle

    Member SavageWaffle GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    4 GB too big. Most is 2 GB. I have a 1 GB also. I just had it lying around in my house.
     
  3. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    R4 doesn't support SDHC (that is, any card above 2GB)
     
  4. pinobot

    Newcomer pinobot Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Are SDHC card different in any way other than their higher capacity?
    R4 supports FAT32, so technically it should be possible to make "normal" sdcard that support higher capacity.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/140365
    See, even FAT16 can go to 16GB.
     
  5. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have seen 4 GB Non-SDHC cards, but the read speeds are extremely slow and arn't worth buying.

    Don't bother going over 2GB, it isn't worth it (I've found 2GB quite a lot of space anyway, my card is never over 60% full).
     
  6. Supah Eirian
    OP

    Newcomer Supah Eirian Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I thought, the read speed would be too slow...

    I just ordered a 2GB kingston card. NON-SDHC,.... should do the trick. But man,... you could fit like 80 DS games on a 4GB card. That would be sick.

    I see that Supercard and some other cards can use SDHC using some new upgrade, too bad the R4 can't.

    Thanks ya'll
     
  7. Requisite

    Newcomer Requisite Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Absolutely somewhere.
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 2GB, and I always find myself needing more room...
    It may be because I watch futurama on it...
     
  8. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    4 GB non-SDHC cards are also said to be unreliable. By someone, just can't remember who... [​IMG]
     

Share This Page