quick question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by GeordieMick, Jun 18, 2008.

Jun 18, 2008

quick question by GeordieMick at 10:42 PM (1,248 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. GeordieMick
    OP

    Newcomer GeordieMick Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    do all pal wii games have the chip detection on them now? (error 001)
     
  2. pokemongalaxy

    Banned pokemongalaxy Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    717
    Country:
    Canada
    I thought only ssbb and super mg had them...
     
  3. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yes, more and more games will have that protection.
    the best solution is to update your chip (or replace it, if updating is impossible), instead of trying to patch the disc, because Nintendo can block that (and so apparantly they did with firmware 3.3)
     
  4. killplaystation

    Member killplaystation GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    what chip detection?
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The 'error 001 unauthorized device has been detected' thing. I believe it's not actually detecting the chip itself, but it can detect that the disc is a copy.
     
  6. killplaystation

    Member killplaystation GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    never heard of it, never run into it.
    even with ssbb or MG. Both of which worked on first burn.
    should i be thanking cyclowiz?
     
  7. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That protection was first introduced with super mario galaxy. The game would display that error and refuse to run on most major modchips. It scared a lot of people back then, thinking Nintendo had finally beaten piracy. But the solution came quickly. Amost all chips got firmware updates and now that error is no longer a problem.
     
  8. zant

    Member zant GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Country:
    United States
    this isn't a problem with YAOSM 3.0 is it?
     
  9. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No, YAOSM is up to date and has a fix for that new protection, since v1.9
     
  10. GeordieMick
    OP

    Newcomer GeordieMick Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cheers all, well looks like i will have to get my chip removed and a new one put in. dont have a clue what chip i got? lol was supposed to be a wiikey, but tryed updating it and it wont! oh well lol btw anybody know if Alone In The Dark, and Top Spin 3 got the chip detection on them?
     

Share This Page