Hacking QUICK/NEWBIE QUESTIONS here!

  • Thread starter OSW
  • Start date
  • Views 437,398
  • Replies 3,484
  • Likes 5

icedemon132

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 23, 2010
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
Hello there!

Im having some problems with the WBFS manager 3.0

when i try to load an ISO it gives me this error:

Error(s) occurred while reading some of the ISO files.
Error estimating:C:Users/Martynas/Downloads/Retdc.iso
An error occured while attempting to read the image file from disk.
 

Rammoth

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2003
Messages
463
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
277
Country
United States
icedemon132 said:
Hello there!

Im having some problems with the WBFS manager 3.0

when i try to load an ISO it gives me this error:

Error(s) occurred while reading some of the ISO files.
Error estimating:C:Users/Martynas/Downloads/Retdc.iso
An error occured while attempting to read the image file from disk.


I'll ask the obvious, not that I can be of any help
tongue.gif
Have you tried any other wii iso file?

It might just be a faulty download.
 

BobTheJoeBob

The most optimistic person on the temp. :)
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
1,683
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
London
Website
Visit site
XP
313
Country
icedemon132 said:
Hello there!

Im having some problems with the WBFS manager 3.0

when i try to load an ISO it gives me this error:

Error(s) occurred while reading some of the ISO files.
Error estimating:C:Users/Martynas/Downloads/Retdc.iso
An error occured while attempting to read the image file from disk.
Sounds like a bad dump/iso. Try another ISO and see if you get the same problem.
 

Rammoth

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2003
Messages
463
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
277
Country
United States
Krestent said:
Rammoth said:
Krestent said:
Rammoth said:
Hi all,

I've been trying to get USB loader running, but so far no luck. Now I'm in need for some help, I'd be very grateful
smile.gif


My Wii is a PAL console on 3.1 and I have a wiikey v1 firmware 1.99
I have no Hermes, but I do have cIOS rev13b I believe. Though I've been changing some IOS'es to get Rock Band/Guitar Hero store crack and instruments work properly (using disc channel)

I've tried to connect my HD (an enclosed Hitachi drive), but it says I have a slow USB device and doesn't connect to it. It does get power from the wii though, since I can hear it spin.

I've tried 3 different USB sticks (Corsair, Kingston and Sony I think) and everything has the same result as described above.

Now I have 4 questions:
1. Is it possible that everything works correctly and USB loader just says the same thing for 3 USB sticks and one HDD (taking 30 seconds, saying my USB device runs slow and in the end saying no USB device was detected)?
2. I should be on cIOS rev13b, but I may have overwritten some IOS's such as 37, to have Rock Band/Guitar Hero function properly. If I add a new cIOS will I be able to play Rock Band normally using both USB slots for instruments through the disc channel (since I have a wiikey)?
3. Will the Rock Band Store crack still function properly?
4. Which cIOS should I get? The ones I see often are rev17, rev19 and rev20b?
1. Are you sure you have it in the right port? It must go in the bottom port.
2. Yes
3. Yes
4. Rev20b

Thanks
smile.gif
Yeah, I've tried both slots.

It should be able to work without hermes right?
Yes. Try upgrading to cIOS rev20b.


Right, I've upgraded to rev20b, but still nothing.

I've opened dop-mii and noticed that pretty much all my IOS's were outdated, and also a lot that I didn't have at all. Might this have something to do with it? I've never upgraded my system menu past 3.1, though I've updated the shopping channel manually. Are there specific IOS's you need in order to run from USB? So that I can download or update them using DOP-Mii.
 

gamemaster2010

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
98
Country
Brazil
Hello,
i have some wii games that are already burned, but i don't remember which region they are from.
There is any program that can tell this for me ?
by the way my wii is hardmodded.
 

Sonic0509

Sometimes I'm Maryushi3
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
180
Trophies
0
Location
Poland
XP
403
Country
Poland
gamemaster2010 said:
Hello,
i have some wii games that are already burned, but i don't remember which region they are from.
There is any program that can tell this for me ?
by the way my wii is hardmodded.

Use any homebrew disc backup launcher that can "force display to game". Turn this feature on and run desired game.
If you got black and white the game is from other region than you Wii.
If your wii is only hardmoded and if you're on 4.1 or 4.2 use bannerbomb to run homebrew just once. If 4.3 use Indiana Pwns or Smash Stack.

Btw. I want ask a question too:
-How to install WADs from USB with Waninkoko rev20 installed?
 

FIX94

Former Staff
Former Staff
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
7,284
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
???
XP
11,123
Country
Germany
sonic0509 said:
Btw. I want ask a question too:
-How to install WADs from USB with Waninkoko rev20 installed?
You need a wad manager, YAWMM is the best one. Select IOS249 to install wads and as source device select USB 2.0 Mass Storage Device.
 

gamemaster2010

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
98
Country
Brazil
sonic0509 said:
gamemaster2010 said:
Hello,
i have some wii games that are already burned, but i don't remember which region they are from.
There is any program that can tell this for me ?
by the way my wii is hardmodded.

Use any homebrew disc backup launcher that can "force display to game". Turn this feature on and run desired game.
If you got black and white the game is from other region than you Wii.
If your wii is only hardmoded and if you're on 4.1 or 4.2 use bannerbomb to run homebrew just once. If 4.3 use Indiana Pwns or Smash Stack.

Btw. I want ask a question too:
-How to install WADs from USB with Waninkoko rev20 installed?
thanks i am gonna try this!
 

Rammoth

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2003
Messages
463
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
277
Country
United States
Rammoth said:
Krestent said:
Rammoth said:
Krestent said:
Rammoth said:
Hi all,

I've been trying to get USB loader running, but so far no luck. Now I'm in need for some help, I'd be very grateful
smile.gif


My Wii is a PAL console on 3.1 and I have a wiikey v1 firmware 1.99
I have no Hermes, but I do have cIOS rev13b I believe. Though I've been changing some IOS'es to get Rock Band/Guitar Hero store crack and instruments work properly (using disc channel)

I've tried to connect my HD (an enclosed Hitachi drive), but it says I have a slow USB device and doesn't connect to it. It does get power from the wii though, since I can hear it spin.

I've tried 3 different USB sticks (Corsair, Kingston and Sony I think) and everything has the same result as described above.

Now I have 4 questions:
1. Is it possible that everything works correctly and USB loader just says the same thing for 3 USB sticks and one HDD (taking 30 seconds, saying my USB device runs slow and in the end saying no USB device was detected)?
2. I should be on cIOS rev13b, but I may have overwritten some IOS's such as 37, to have Rock Band/Guitar Hero function properly. If I add a new cIOS will I be able to play Rock Band normally using both USB slots for instruments through the disc channel (since I have a wiikey)?
3. Will the Rock Band Store crack still function properly?
4. Which cIOS should I get? The ones I see often are rev17, rev19 and rev20b?
1. Are you sure you have it in the right port? It must go in the bottom port.
2. Yes
3. Yes
4. Rev20b

Thanks
smile.gif
Yeah, I've tried both slots.

It should be able to work without hermes right?
Yes. Try upgrading to cIOS rev20b.


Right, I've upgraded to rev20b, but still nothing.

I've opened dop-mii and noticed that pretty much all my IOS's were outdated, and also a lot that I didn't have at all. Might this have something to do with it? I've never upgraded my system menu past 3.1, though I've updated the shopping channel manually. Are there specific IOS's you need in order to run from USB? So that I can download or update them using DOP-Mii.

To give an overview of my IOS's, here's the list DOP-Mii made. Tell me if you see something odd or important missing in this list that might cause the problem (IOS 57?). To make it easier to read, I've highlighted the ones that apparently are not trucha signed:

"DOP-Mii Report"

"Region", Europe (E)

"Hollywood Version", ####

"Wii Unique DeviceID", ########

IOS Version, FakeSign, ES_Identify, NAND, Flash

"250 (v65535)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled

"249 (v20)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled

"61 (v4890)",Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled

"60 (v6174)",Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled

"56 (v5405)",Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled

"55 (v4633)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled

"53 (v4113)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled

"38 (v3610)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled


"37 (v3612)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled

"36 (v3607)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled

"35 (v1040)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"34 (v1039)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"33 (v1040)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"31 (v1040)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"30 (v1040)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"28 (v1288)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"22 (v772)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"21 (v517)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"20 (v12)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"17 (v512)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"15 (v257)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"14 (v257)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"13 (v10)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"12 (v6)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"11 (v10)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"9 (v516)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled

"4 (v3)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled
 

Mindcrime

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
51
Country
Another dumb question here.

I've setup my seagate freeagent go 500GB by formating it to NTFS with WiiBackupManager, and
added some games into it.

Started HBC and used wad manager 1.7 to install Usbloader GX channel.wad, (I've not used the
easy installer, just the channel.wad) it went sucessful. Right after that I started it up with my freeagent go. All it says is, No USB device found
and I can choose cIOS249 or cIOS222 to retry. Nothing happend with cIOS249
but with cIOS222, a message said "it didn't found any wbfs partition" and gave me an option
to [FORMAT] or [Return].

Since, I would like to keep a NTFS-system, what can I do? Am I doing something wrong?
I've tested both USB-connections on the Wii and I came up with the same options.


Or is it better to partition 500GB to two partitions and have one as a "pure" wbfs partition
and the other as NTFS?
 

Rammoth

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2003
Messages
463
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
277
Country
United States
I think I'm gonna try installing Hermes to see if that does any good. One question about Hermes, it says it merges IOS37 with 38. Does this mean these 2 get combined in the firmware? Cause that might cause problems with my Rock Band Store crack.
 

icedemon132

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 23, 2010
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
Rammoth said:
icedemon132 said:
Hello there!

Im having some problems with the WBFS manager 3.0

when i try to load an ISO it gives me this error:

Error(s) occurred while reading some of the ISO files.
Error estimating:C:Users/Martynas/Downloads/Retdc.iso
An error occured while attempting to read the image file from disk.


I'll ask the obvious, not that I can be of any help
tongue.gif
Have you tried any other wii iso file?

It might just be a faulty download.

Got it sorted now !
smile.gif
it wasn't a faulty ISO as it seemed to do that with all ISO's I tried,
after a bit of messing around it seemed that the problem that was causing all this was simply where the ISO file was, apparently
it being in MY DOCUMENTS, wfbs manager was having problems reading it, as soon as i put it on my desktop, or any other location on my computer , it seemed to read it just fine
smile.gif


So if anyone has the same problem as me, just try moving the ISO to another location on your computer
yaywii.gif
 

cafevincent

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
75
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
219
Country
Finland
Is it possible to launch USB backups directly from the system menu like a disk? Hopefully with a forwarder for each game's own channel animation.

If not then is it possible to have my wii boot directly to a USB loader so that exiting the loader would load the system menu..?
 

FIX94

Former Staff
Former Staff
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
7,284
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
???
XP
11,123
Country
Germany
xakota said:
What is the ideal media for Gamecube backups? DVD+r/-r/etc.? Will a DVD+RW work?
The best things for Wii AND GameCube games are DVD-R's. DVD+RW'S and DVD-RW's are not very compatible and bad for the wii drive.
 

steveo581

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
192
Trophies
0
Location
US
XP
255
Country
United States
if i never installed ios56 through wad manager, does that matter? i only used it as a base for rev 20 installation?

---> any risk in trying to install ios56 now through wad manager?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Next week will be a new one