quick microsdhc question

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by AsianMemories, Jun 12, 2008.

Jun 12, 2008

quick microsdhc question by AsianMemories at 1:35 AM (1,223 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. AsianMemories
    OP

    Newcomer AsianMemories Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    i will be receiving my cyclods soon and need help on choosing a card. I plan on playing TWEWY for sure, so does that mean only class 6 cards will work?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820134638
    is that a good choice? i know its class 4 but i hope TWEWY will work. plus i need the reader.
    and anyone know the difference between a kingston 4gb and a 4gbkr?
    thanks
     
  2. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
  3. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    my class 4 kingston works fine
    hasnt froze once in TWENY, have heard sandisk freeze in it all the time though
     
  4. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Doesn't mean it'll freeze. But it means that the class 6 cards are faster than the Class 4 ones.

    Besides, I beat TWEWY on my Class 4 card.
     
  5. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    MicroSDHC access-times is what matters.
     
  6. wilddenim

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got CycloDS and SanDisk Class 4 and no single freeze. [​IMG]
     
  7. Sticks

    Member Sticks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    Australia
    Speaks the truth. Class ratings have no bearing on NDS games/performance. Besides, some Adata cards (class 6, mind you) are reported to be slow in loading games and opening up the enhanced menu. (2-8 seconds for the menu). Times will depend on the specific chip of the cycloDS you get, which you can't check at all online so no use worrying about it.

    Just buy the Kingston.
     
  8. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    Wait wait, if it takes that long with a class 6 wouldn't it take even longer with the slower Kingston?
     
  9. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    The classes just represent a minimum transfer rate for SD-cards, they do not say anything about highest transfer speed.
     

Share This Page