Questions on Brand/Size of HDD

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by XaViaR, Aug 6, 2009.

Aug 6, 2009

Questions on Brand/Size of HDD by XaViaR at 5:04 PM (1,472 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. XaViaR
    OP

    Newcomer XaViaR Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Hello,

    I realize that there are lots of threads on brands of HDD that will work with the Wii and USB Loader GX. From reading those treads (mostly "Wii USB Devices Compatibility List"), I *think* I have narrowed the HDD down to a 320G HDD. Any thoughts...?

    Also, what is the ratio to 1 Wii game to x Gigs? I know it will very, but how many games "should" I expect to get on a 320G HDD? Thanks for your help!!


    TOSHIBA HDDR320E03X 320GB
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822149076

    SimpleTech Signature Mini FS-U25/320H 320GB
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822100050
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Many people here have Seagate or WD drives. Have no Idea about those.

    If all games are max size (not counting Brawl), they are 4.7Gb. So you could fit around 68 games on the drive. But most games are way smaller so you can fit many more games on the drive [​IMG]
     
  3. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    The average game landing on HDD is about 2.3 GB.

    The Toshiba drive should work for my experiences.
     
  4. XaViaR
    OP

    Newcomer XaViaR Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for your responses and help!
     
  5. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, some games like Wii Sports and Wii Play are under .5 gigs, some, like Metroid Prime 3 are above 4 gigs, while some like MKWii are right around 2.5 gigs.
     
  6. jabmaster2

    Member jabmaster2 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    United States
    I have an iomega ego 1tb ( they make em
    in 320gb also). It has been perfect I've had no spin down or freezes. It also run very quiet and stays very cool. I'd reccomend it to anybody.
     
  7. DGenerateKane

    Member DGenerateKane GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using an old WD 200 GB IDE drive in an enclosure but ran out of room so I just ordered a sata enclosure to put my 750 GB seagate in.
     
  8. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    i have a 20gb maxtor ide drive in enclosure for my test wii and a 150gb maxtor sata drive on a cheap usb adapter from china on my main wii
     
  9. crono999

    Newcomer crono999 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    I have a 1TB lacie on my wii now,i think its a maxtor inside,could also be a samsung.

    Most hdd's works great tough as long as you don't use the original usb loader,i use Configurable USB Loader,works whit al the hdd's i have.(lacie 1 TB,freecom 500gb,cruser 4gb)
     
  10. XaViaR
    OP

    Newcomer XaViaR Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Well...I just bought a WD My Passport 250Gb HD. So far so good!! [​IMG]
     
  11. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Nice, thats actually the exact make and model I was gonna buy. Tell me how it works please [​IMG]
     
  12. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    nobody does if you have at least rev13a it was fixed. the 1 i have is wd mypassport 320gb never 1 problem with it. just plug it in and away it goes.
     
  13. XaViaR
    OP

    Newcomer XaViaR Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Walmart has them on sale for $60. That's pretty cheap! I'm using the latest USB Loader GX r707 (I think) with cIOS r14. With very little problems. However, I ran into two issues. When backing up Tiger Woods 2010 and The Conduit to disk, the install process will freeze at ~78%. Other games are working fine. These two games work when playing via NeoGamma r7...dunno what the issue is. I need to read more...other than that, the HD is working well! [​IMG]
     
  14. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States

    Thats not true.Rev13a didnt fix spindown completely.

    I have a 100gb maxtor drive inside a generic external enclosure.I've tested it with cios 10,12,both 13's and 14.
    It goes to sleep with all of them.

    Rev13 was the best though.I could play the longest with it before freezing would occcur and the freezing was random with it where with all the other cios revisions it would freeze in the exact same spot in the game 9 out of 10 times.

    I finally just gave up on the drive all together.When a new cios comes out i will test it again but its no biggie to me it was just a spare drive i had around i was seeing if i could get it to work so i could sell it to a friend to use with his wii.
     
  15. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    it worked for me ssbb used to freeze at the intro now it doesnt
     
  16. tomazzzi

    Member tomazzzi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    239
    Country:
    Every drive i used just worked.

    Toshiba, fujitsu, IBM laptop IDE/sata drives

    Maxtor, seagate, western digital desktop IDE & sata drives from 40 to 500 GB

    For me the most important thing is the enclosure !!
     

Share This Page