Questions before getting wiikey

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by m0nk3y, Aug 11, 2007.

Aug 11, 2007

Questions before getting wiikey by m0nk3y at 5:03 PM (1,242 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

1. m0nk3y
    OP

Newcomer m0nk3y Member

United States
    I'm thinking about getting a wiikey but have questions, i have been modding my psp and ds for a long time so im used to the whole hacking thing, but the thing is i have no experience soldering and don't want to mess up my wii my stepdad does but i dont think he'll want to do it, my wii was bought a week after launch so the legs aren't cut and thats good, my firmware is 2.2 the that comes with super paper mario, also what modchip do you guys recomend

thnx in advance

2. m0nk3y
    OP

Newcomer m0nk3y Member

United States
    can someone help me at all

3. Pigwooly

Member Pigwooly GBAtemp Fan

United States
    I can't help much, as I haven't modded my Wii, but I do know that the pads you have to solder onto are extremely small and close together. If you wanna do it yourself, definitely read up on soldering and practice on an old computer chip a whole ton before you try it. You might wanna think about looking on Craigslist or something for someone you can pay to install it for you.

4. gamez2003

Newcomer gamez2003 Advanced Member

Australia

I would recomend you get the wiikey thou they are a little slow with updates the chip in my opinion is the most advanced and best priced ATM.

If I were you i would look for a professional then you can blame them if it breaks [​IMG].

I would recomend you to some installers but I dont know any in the US.

5. xhaborymx

Newcomer xhaborymx Advanced Member

United States
    It was one of my first times soldering anything. If you go to RadioShack or whatever and buy a real fine-tipped 10w iron with the smallest gauge wire they sell and you take your time and tape over all of the other contacts and go one at a time, you should be fine.

6. manias

Member manias GBAtemp Maniac