Hacking Questions about DS lite flashcart

odyssy

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
So I've been looking at getting a flashcart to play some games on my DSL. I've never used one of these devices before, and (esp. with the engrish on some of the official websites..) I'm a bit confused of what I should be buying.

I know there are basically two or three things you need:
1) A pass device, to allow you to boot DS games from the GBA slot.
2) A flash cart
3) (depending on the flash cart) a CF/SD/miniSD card.

What I want to know is:
a) What does it mean when reviews/descriptions talk about "slow downs"? Does that mean it takes abnormally long to load the game? Or does it mean a slow down in gameplay?

b) How does using these devices affect battery life? (ie. compared to playing a real cartridge, what is the battery life hit I can expect?)

c) Are pass devices/flash carts interoperable? IE. could I use a superkey with a M3 perfect, or a passkey2 with a supercard?

d) How does the gaming experience differ, if at all, between playing games on flashcarts vs. real cartridges? (ie. any extra/missing fuctionality, or different methods needed to get the same functionality)

Also, maybe someone could recommend which device would work best for me? I want something:
a) That doesn't stick out of the DSL at all (so I think that pretty much leaves out the M3)
b) Has 100% (or as close to it as possible) compatibility with DS games
c) Can play GBA games

There are three that I've identified as being potentially interesting:
Supercard lite w/superkey. (The superkey doesn't need a DS cartridge to work, right? And doesn't stick out at all?)
G6 lite (I would need a pass card for this, right?)
Ninjapass (I can only find a 512Mb = 64MB version.. are there others forthcoming? Is 64MB big enough for any game?)

Each of them is kind of in a different category.. I wonder how they compare on compatiblity and battery life, specifically.