1. TheDuckMan64

    OP TheDuckMan64 Chicken nugget.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
  2. Mrrraou

    Mrrraou GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,873
    Country:
    France
    Because the NANDs encryption keys are 3DS unique.
    Flashing other's NAND to your own 3DS would brick it.
     
  3. wurstpistole

    wurstpistole GBAtemp MVP
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,506
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Because NANDs are unique for every system, think of it like having an individual fingerprint that can not be changed to match yours.
     
  4. TheDuckMan64

    OP TheDuckMan64 Chicken nugget.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    But why can a 3ds with no "NAND" (aka a brand new one that hasn't been turned on (it literally no NAND, ) not "adopt" the other NAND? Or does it have to do with a key that is unique to that 3ds, no matter how many times you reset it?

    EDIT: Not sure how to word this question very well. Of course the new 3ds has a NAND, it's just... un-setup?
     
    Last edited by TheDuckMan64, Dec 26, 2015
  5. Mrrraou

    Mrrraou GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,873
    Country:
    France
    A 3DS always have a NAND. When it's never turned on, it still has its own NAND, the configuration and user data are just reset.
     
  6. TheDuckMan64

    OP TheDuckMan64 Chicken nugget.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    Are there also configs that do not get setup when we first setup the 3ds? Ones that are made when the 3ds is put together?
     
  7. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    It's part of the hardware. You could do a motherboard swap if you wanted to.
     
  8. Vappy

    Vappy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,507
    Country:
    For the most part, it's set up in the factory as part of the manufacturing process, it's only a few user settings that are left to be configured by the user.
     
  9. TheDuckMan64

    OP TheDuckMan64 Chicken nugget.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    So if we, for example, did a more complicated hard mod and extracted the NAND.bin and the other encryption keys and whatnot (if they are accessible), we could then put them on a different 3ds and it should work?

    EDIT: But we would have to deal with the issue of online stuff...
     
    Last edited by TheDuckMan64, Dec 26, 2015
  10. Mrrraou

    Mrrraou GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,873
    Country:
    France
    No. Swapping motherboards would be easier (and possible).
     
  11. TheDuckMan64

    OP TheDuckMan64 Chicken nugget.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    I'm not asking what easier, I was just wondering if it would work/ is it possible?
     
  12. Mrrraou

    Mrrraou GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,873
    Country:
    France
    The encryption keys are stored in a chip. It would *maybe* work, but you would have to clone that chip, and, well... That would be extremely hard, costly, and you would break the other N3DS. So that's useless and a big waste.
     
  13. Just3DS

    Just3DS GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    440
    Country:
    Off topic but I always wondered. How they configure/write chip-specific NAND in factory? Of course one has to first know the unique key of the SoC and then input it somewhere in a stock NAND to make it work... there must be a factory hardware machine or a computer software that does this... (in which case if it got leaked we can make our own sysNAND CFW)
     
    Last edited by Just3DS, Dec 26, 2015
  14. emanoel182

    emanoel182 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Brazil
    Also have this doubt , wanted to do the test, I have a N3DS brincked want to try to put the Nand another N3DS using hardmod and win32 . I guess that the serial may have some importance in it. My serial begin with QW4017.
     
    Last edited by emanoel182, May 30, 2016
  15. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,269
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    As already stated, it won't work.
     
    astronautlevel likes this.
  16. linktlh

    linktlh Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    -deleted-
     
    Last edited by linktlh, Feb 24, 2019
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Question], Restoring, others