Question regarding LU64 & LU111

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Bobbarooskie, Jun 5, 2009.

Jun 5, 2009
  1. Bobbarooskie
    OP

    Newcomer Bobbarooskie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    Hello,
    Is it possible to get HBC and a back up loader working on Wiis with a serial number of LU64 or LU111? Sorry if this question has been asked before, I had no luck with the search function.
    Thanks for any help
     
  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It's possible to get backup loaders working on any Wii now. For LU64's on 4.0 you'll need to get cboot2
     
  3. Jeomite

    Member Jeomite GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Do you need cboot2 if you have LU64+ with 3.2 but upgrade to 4.0?
     
  4. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a LU64 and are on 4.0 without cIOS, then you'd need to use cboot2 to get cIOS installed.

    Also, I assume you mean 3.4 because the LU64's come with that firmware and not 3.2
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If you downgrade ANYTHING on such a Wii, it's bricked. And these Wiis come with either 3.4 or 4.0. Only install HBC, BootMii IOS, a cIOS via cBoot2 and if you think you really need it, you can install channels, and VC/WiiWare. Everything else is super stupid on these Wiis.
     
  6. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Well, you can downgrade an individual IOS and you won't necessarily brick, but anything that runs off of that IOS will not function until you get the IOS back to normal. Of course if you downgraded IOS60, then you'd be in trouble. =P
     
  7. ecw

    Member ecw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    I would bet money that the LU111 would have a "vulnerable" boot. You should be able to install BootMii as Boot2 and from there it should be ready for anythjing. As for the LU64....Ebay!!
     
  8. Bobbarooskie
    OP

    Newcomer Bobbarooskie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    Great thanks for the information!
    Can anyone point me in the right direction for a cboot2 tutorial, I’m unfamiliar on how to use it.
    Thanks again
     

Share This Page