Question Mark

DOrayaki

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
49
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I have done the CBHC. Put the games in the install folder of my 32gb sd card (Wii u usb helper). And then install in the NAND. All i get is grey question marks with every game (EUR or USA) I install.
What is the problem?

Thank you
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,264
Trophies
1
XP
15,333
Country
United States
this can happen if the meta is corrupted. I don't know if that's what's happening or not, but it should be affecting all games or happen at all really unless someone messed with the meta of the install files.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DOrayaki

DOrayaki

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
49
Country
United Kingdom
I have a wii U bought here in the UK. Version 5.5.5 updated. I installed the CBHC from hacks guide. Followed every step carefully and every video i could. Managed to install games that would open in the NAND but always freeze at the beginning, restarting the console happened all the time. Now they just appear as question marks and if openned they say its a unknown format and should be deleted..
Should I have formatted the sysNAND? I heard people talking about redHBC and stuff. I just followed the guide and thought that would be enough...i dont know what to do or if I can try to re-do it all again......
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,264
Trophies
1
XP
15,333
Country
United States
do you not reformat or you'll brick unless you uninstall cbhc first. what guide did you use? I think something may be wrong with that console, because hacking the wii u is only a few steps, so I'm hard pressed to figure out how it could be user error.
 

DOrayaki

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
49
Country
United Kingdom
used the wii u hacks guide

But that is the thing. They used to at least freeze at the beginning, now they are just on an unkown format
How can i uninstall the CBHC to re-do it again?
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,264
Trophies
1
XP
15,333
Country
United States
you can uninstall cbhc with the installer. just confirm on the first page of the cbhc installer, then I think you press B. it will say on the second installer page which button uninstalls.
 

DOrayaki

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
49
Country
United Kingdom
you can uninstall cbhc with the installer. just confirm on the first page of the cbhc installer, then I think you press B. it will say on the second installer page which button uninstalls.
can this be a problem of the device? does it have to do with the version 5.5.5 E? Should i just run EUR instead of USA games? Should i install now the hatchi and not the CBHC?

Also what is the nandumper for? should i run it now that i uninstalled the CHBC?
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,264
Trophies
1
XP
15,333
Country
United States
yes, it could be a problem with the system. I doubt cbhc itself would cause this, wup installer, maybe. I don't think it will matter if it's Europe or USA, neither should cause the question mark tile problem.
 

DOrayaki

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
49
Country
United Kingdom
you can uninstall cbhc with the installer. just confirm on the first page of the cbhc installer, then I think you press B. it will say on the second installer page which button uninstalls.
i have done it. now i run HBC and it doesnt open. can i unsinstall it. and do it over again?
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,264
Trophies
1
XP
15,333
Country
United States
make sure cbhc is uninstalled by restarting. make sure there's no "autobooting" or anything. then, delete the game, redownload it from the eshop, then use browser hax or indexiine to get back into the homebrew launcher. after that, install haxchi just to test. then, install something and see if it's a question mark tile.
 

DOrayaki

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
49
Country
United Kingdom
just one thing before all of it. when i unisntall the do not touch thing, inside there is also some save data, can i remove them as well?
i do not remove the "non functional" HBC then?
 

DOrayaki

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
49
Country
United Kingdom
make sure cbhc is uninstalled by restarting. make sure there's no "autobooting" or anything. then, delete the game, redownload it from the eshop, then use browser hax or indexiine to get back into the homebrew launcher. after that, install haxchi just to test. then, install something and see if it's a question mark tile.
But tell me why woudl i redownload the game from eshop if mocha doesnt require game?
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,264
Trophies
1
XP
15,333
Country
United States
then, I'd suggest reusing it instead of using mocha, though you could try mocha with a test game to see if you get question marks again. I don't know if there some sort of hash checker. that's what .h3 files are for during installation iirc, but afterwards, I don't know. I do know that if the meta files are corrupted or even off by a byte, you'll get question mark tiles and three question marks for the name iirc.
 

DOrayaki

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
49
Country
United Kingdom
OK. So here is what i did
I tried Mocha
Installed Mocha in the sd card and followed the mocha hacking guide basically.
Tried to install games directly into the sd card but they would basically freeze (no question mark however). Tried to install NUSsplit that would allow me to download the games but then it would say my HBL is outadated, so i was able to install trough WUP and it worked. The thing is, the games is installed but it doesnt work. Tried the version 2.1 fix of HB and it doesnt isntall trough wup, it says i dont have space in the card, or simply starts and freezes. (this error of sd problem was also present in the beginning when i tried to install directly into the sd and not through NUSsplip... So this is the scenario....i dont know what to don honeslty... I am now able to install some games (others say that they are not games, dlc, videos, and are not supported) , the ones i could install they freeze. If i click on them however without running mocha, they say i have to re-buy at the eshop
 

DOrayaki

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
49
Country
United Kingdom
tried to install now wupdownloader... opened mocha. run wupdownload. ---> problem with system memory...... i just dont know what to do...
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: it's not a scam the referrals are real and make them just as much money as most other referrals...