Hacking ROM Hack [QUESTION] How to change titleID of a game to install it two times simultaneously?

lordelan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,900
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,747
Country
Germany
Beside my regular vanilla install of MK8D I want to install a second one that I could mess up with mods to try some alternate courses.
And no, I don't want to enable/disable LayeredFS aka mods on my vanilla game (I'm aware that's the usual way). I want a separate install with a separate savegame and given the tools (probably HacTool?) I'm pretty sure it's somehow possible but before I mess up and waste time I figured I'd ask first in case someone already did that.

Edit: Nevermind. The custom track community for MK8D is literally f*cking dead. There are 4 (F O U R) custom tracks right now after over 4 years of existence of that game:
https://gamebanana.com/mods/cats/5086
All because the tools suck and the courses crash in multiplayer (for which I don't care since I wanna play on one console only).
 
Last edited by lordelan,

kidkat210

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2016
Messages
1,092
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
2,424
Country
United States
As you already mentioned, I think the only way would be to extract the the files with hactool or something like that, figure out how to edit it then repack it. Im honestly not sure.
Another idea is have it setup in emunand. But that would be very tedious to have to switch back and forth for 1 game
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
10,048
Trophies
2
XP
31,593
Country
United Kingdom
why dont you try different region? use EU and US versions
A lot of the time they're the same release, tho some games will be different.

Yeah unpacking with hactool, modifying the TID everywhere it exists in the meta files, and repacking with hacpack or similar, would be the way to go.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lordelan

lordelan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,900
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,747
Country
Germany
A lot of the time they're the same release, tho some games will be different.

Yeah unpacking with hactool, modifying the TID everywhere it exists in the meta files, and repacking with hacpack or similar, would be the way to go.
Thought someone may know the precise places of all TIDs but I'll try my best tonight. Thx. :)
 

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
3,771
Trophies
2
XP
6,239
Country
Would emunand be an option? Either setting one up if you don’t have one, using some kind of ‘multi-emunand’ (if one exists) if you do or multiple mSD cards (although I’d be weary of wear on the mSD slot).
 

lordelan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,900
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,747
Country
Germany
Would emunand be an option? Either setting one up if you don’t have one, using some kind of ‘multi-emunand’ (if one exists) if you do or multiple mSD cards (although I’d be weary of wear on the mSD slot).
I'm already talking about the emuNAND and no I don't swap between different systems only for different instances of a game. :P
I'll mess around with HacTool.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Very very very very broadly speaking.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But no.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    emulation isn't telling the silicon to perform a specific way, it's just translating the commands into something the cpu can understand
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    fpga runs them natively
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and i assume there is a level of verification that is not possible with emulation since you can actually probe the pins to verify that it behaves the exact same as real hardware
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    so it's easier to get it 1:1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    there aren't even virtual pins with emulation that you could "probe", it doesn't go that deep
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    So fpga PS2 when? Hehehe
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    fpga PS1 isn't even out yet
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Just saw an article about Anbernic rg40xxh as a "cheaper alternative to RG Cube". I love it when they do that.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Etch-A-Sketch, cheaper alternative to the iPad"
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i guess they were thinking in emulation capabilities
  • Veho @ Veho:
    In emulation capabilities one can run Gamecube and the other can barely run n64.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    One is Android 13 and the other is Baked Beans OS 0.6 (I'm not even kidding)
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    PC ftw lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    May I suggest a pocket calculator as a cheaper alternative?
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Veho you may be right, all in my PC is probably 1800 dollars and that's using refurbished and mid range parts lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Although some stats are pretty cool 38TBs of storage not counting external drives
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    People ask why so much.... ROM sets for even PS2 just eat up that much
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Why so much? Because we have it in our minds we need the latest and greatest when pc performance peaked at a consumer level
  • HUNTERFOX @ HUNTERFOX:
    Just finished getting the rest of the emulators on my 3ds. Now I have. gb/gba/sn64/snes/nes
    +2
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://spectrum.ieee.org/rollable-smartphone