Question for best GBA card with DS-X

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Jawas, Mar 17, 2007.

Mar 17, 2007
  1. Jawas
    OP

    Member Jawas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    Hello, I have browsed through the reviews of the site, and searched the fourms, and am looking for opinions from the wiser folk than myself in the subject of a GBA chip.

    So currently, I have a old fashioned Nintendo DS (not a DS lite). And I have a DS-Extreme. I am looking to buy GBA chip to allow preferably the 100% (or nearest) functions of backups. I wouldn't mind the ability if possible to use apps such as the DS browser, etc, which I have seen require a special ram, and i'm not too sure on the functionality between my ds-x and the possible chip i would purchase.

    Really, looking for the best solution to go with for a GBA mod to pair up with the DS-x I currently own, if there even is any. If there isn't then what would be my wisest chocie of a GBA chip to get for functionality of backups.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,447
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    M3 Perfect miniSD. The best. Expensive, but the best. Excellent GBA compatibility, Real Time Clock, supports all homebrew, and with a Slot1 card, you can run the Opera browser.
     
  3. nothing4me

    Member nothing4me Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    And for the DSlite, the best solution will be a M3 Lite?
    Do I need a passme or something? What do I need with it? (I have a DS-X too.)

    What will I need to make the M3lite work?

    Whats the difference between:
    M3lite and M3 lite perfect? I heard Perfect needs a bypass?
     
  4. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States
    No, you don't need a passme if you have a DS-X, I use the superkey.nds to boot from my DS-X to my m3 lite.
     
  5. nothing4me

    Member nothing4me Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Whats the difference between:
    M3lite and M3 lite perfect? I heard Perfect needs a passme?
     
  6. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States
    It's the same thing. If you have the DS-X, you can use it as a passme device.
    Put the superkey.nds in your DS-X and run it like any other rom, it will make your DS-X a passme device.
     
  7. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With M3 Lite Perfect you will not be able to use it as the Opera memory expansion pack. Just so you know.

    - Sam

    EDIT: Hang on, just checking...
    EDIT2: I was wrong. It's the M3 Pro that can't be used for Opera
     
  8. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you can, there's already a patch for it.
     
  9. nothing4me

    Member nothing4me Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    M3 Lite and M3 Lite perfect are the same but diff names?

    And since I have a DS-X, I don't need a passme or anything right? I can the DS-X as a passme?

    If this is all right, can you suggest some sites with the CHEAPEST price that accepts paypal?
     
  10. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States
    I recommend this site:
    http://www.realhotstuff.com/lite-adapter-p-119.html
    Use the code RHS07 when you checkout to get 5% off.
     
  11. Shebang

    Member Shebang GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    464
    Country:
    Belgium
    I own a m3 simply but I am wondering which device I might need to play GBA games, too. I still have an old GBA Flash device from Visoly, but I hesitate to try else it might brick my DS lite.

    Any advice is highly appreciated.

    Shebang
     
  12. lousk

    lousk Newbie

    I was wondering if the M3 Perfect Mini-SD will work on a GBA-SP machices without a glitch?

    M3 Perfect Mini-SD & "Passcard 3" Bundle, is that Passcard 3 is only required in order to play NDS roms saved on the M3 Perpect Mini-SD?

    Thanks
     
  13. jrdehaisx

    Newcomer jrdehaisx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    United States
    I did research on this... you want it for DS... if it is so get the R4DS + a Japanese MicroSD card... that is the best way to go... if you dont believe me, it got almost 200 votes agains many named cards here.

    By the way the R4DS does not need a passcard, it already comes with a MicroSD USB adapter for your PC and is copy and play.
     

Share This Page