1. Gagarin

    OP Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    I have wad files, but most of them are in PAL format. Can I use them (I live in the US so it should be NTSC).
     
  2. shred6waves

    shred6waves GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    United States
    look for freethewads

    i personally dont know how to use it but it seems to work

    also, most of the PAL releases are released in NTSC region as well
     
  3. Gagarin

    OP Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    One more thing... I don't know if it won't sound silly...

    After copying wad files with wad installer must I leave them on my SD card or they are installed so it's ok to delete them?
    If yes, so what are the limits of Wii of installed wad files (how much memory I can use for it?
     
  4. Prime

    Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    it is ok to delete them.
     
  5. Gagarin

    OP Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    so up to how many i can load into my Wii?
    Where do the games go? 512 MB built-in NAND flash memory?
    [​IMG]
     
  6. dj_skual

    dj_skual Code & Mix
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    997
    Country:
    France
    yes you can delete from your SD
    but keep a copy in your computer because you need the wad you have installed to desinstall properly your channel (with ticket) with wad uninstaller
     
  7. Prime

    Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    Duh, on your wii!
     
  8. nanika

    nanika 文鎮じゃダメ!まぁ、こんな文字小さしすぎてどうせ読めないっしょ。
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, on the 512MB NAND, and they use up 8 blocks for each megabyte of .wad, iirc.
     
  9. Gagarin

    OP Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to install my wad files (btw, their names don't matter, right?)
    but after loading the screen I have following message:

    FAT starts at sector 0x2
    /start at sector 0x 2
    start cluster 0000
    FAT_ReadFile (boot.elf) failed with error-1
    ## No elf image at address 90100000
    DOL image detected?
    loading binary file...






    and everything is frozen :|
    I got wad installer from GBATEMP guide (http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=83479)
    There are two files in there:

    wad-installer.dol
    wad-installer.elf


    Should I rename them to boot.elf?
    What I supposed to do with other one?

    On youtube guide they use one file and rename it to boot.elf

    Please help............
     
  10. Prime

    Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    There is no info on the wad installer or download link to the installer in my guide.

    You havn't downloaded the wad installer dude.

    Download the wad installer from the common download links sticky and name it boot.elf, make a new folder in the root of your sd card name that wad and put your wad in that folder.

    Boot up Twilight princess and away you go.
     
  11. Gagarin

    OP Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    WAD_Installer_v2.1.zip 178,998
    -README.txt 751
    -README.es.txt 770
    -wad-installer.dol 145,024
    -wad-installer.elf 244,049


    That's what I have.
     
  12. Prime

    Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    Right, and you didn't obtain those from my guide because i didn't provide them in my guide, correct? good!

    you name the installer to boot.elf, put it in the root of your sd card
    create a folder called wad and put your .wad in that and boot up the installer.
     
  13. Gagarin

    OP Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    That 's what I tried!
    Didn't work. I have that message.
    Folder is "Wad" and files are in it. However - still no result!



    P.S.
    I didn't get it from your guide.:|
     
  14. Prime

    Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    i'm not sure, the wad installer i have doesn't start with that make sure you HAVE downloaded the wad installer.

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=2444



     
  15. Gagarin

    OP Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so rename it wad-installer.elf into boot.elf, right?
    What about the second one, wad-installer.dol rename into boot.dol?

    Ok, I google the name after your great guide, satisfied?
     
  16. Prime

    Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    you do not use the .dol, rename the .elf to boot.elf.
     
  17. Gagarin

    OP Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    I will let you know it 15 minutes if it worked....
     
  18. Gagarin

    OP Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    Yep. I tried another SD card (2GB micro SD in adapter) and it worked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Life is beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  19. Gagarin

    OP Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    By the way.........
    How does it effect my Wii, I mean, if I would load (lets say) 40 Wads, so there will be no memory (ram) for regular games, so how does it work?
     
  20. Arakon

    Arakon GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    312
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    eventually the memory is full, and when you turn on the wii it won't let you do anything but delete channels/saves, until you have made enough space again. wii has a sort of "backup memory" in case you install more than you can fit in the user-usable space.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Question, files,