Question about updating Wad Cios with different base

Mattotk

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 5, 2022
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Montevideo
XP
180
Country
Uruguay
Buddy, you just answered your own queestion.

But it's confusing, are you trying to play DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi 3?
Because I too have that game and works in 480p for me.

About DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi 2 on Wii I don't know, so maybe this is the one you're referring too.
Not really, I'm trying to find out why exiting a game that is running at 576i is causing the crash, I can have 2 workarounds, run at 480i and see everything at a much lower quality, or play a ntsc game.
I want to play the Pal version because of the language, I have no problem with english, but my nephew doesn't understand it.
Budokai Tenkaichi 3 indeed, It seems that the Pal version won't support 480p.
 

JuanMena

90's Kid, Old Skull Gamer & Artist
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2019
Messages
5,096
Trophies
2
Age
30
Location
the 90's 💙
XP
11,112
Country
Mexico
Not really, I'm trying to find out why exiting a game that is running at 576i is causing the crash, I can have 2 workarounds, run at 480i and see everything at a much lower quality, or play a ntsc game.
I want to play the Pal version because of the language, I have no problem with english, but my nephew doesn't understand it.
I see, yeah, well... not sure, but, do you have PriiLoader installed in your Wii?

There's an option in PriiLoader that enables "region free everything" and enabling that might help. Not sure though because I'm in Mexico, so I avoid out of region games.

Alternatively, have you searched for a translation for the NTSC game?

Also, which language you're using the game with? Some games changes their language if the console's language is set to another language other than english.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mattotk

Mattotk

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 5, 2022
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Montevideo
XP
180
Country
Uruguay
I see, yeah, well... not sure, but, do you have PriiLoader installed in your Wii?

There's an option in PriiLoader that enables "region free everything" and enabling that might help. Not sure though because I'm in Mexico, so I avoid out of region games.

Alternatively, have you searched for a translation for the NTSC game?

Also, which language you're using the game with? Some games changes their language if the console's language is set to another language other than english.
Yeah I have that settings, that is how I have been loading pal games, japanase wads etc.
Using a spanish translation was my first choice, because it was the easiest thing to do, I found one semi complete, but I also wanted to fix the problem, I'm thrilled about some people claiming this game to work with hermes cios.
Post automatically merged:

Also, which language you're using the game with? Some games changes their language if the console's language is set to another language other than english.
Both the console and game are set in spanish.
 

JuanMena

90's Kid, Old Skull Gamer & Artist
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2019
Messages
5,096
Trophies
2
Age
30
Location
the 90's 💙
XP
11,112
Country
Mexico
Yeah I have that settings, that is how I have been loading pal games, japanase wads etc.
Using a spanish translation was my first choice, because it was the easiest thing to do, I found one semi complete, but I also wanted to fix the problem, I'm thrilled about some people claiming this game to work with hermes cios.
Hermes cIOS is way too old.
But I guess it may help? I'm not sure about this because my Wii being with me since 2008 has Hermes/Waninkoko/d2x cios together and couple more that I don't remember why exactly I installed them.

But d2x is supposed to be the "final stage" of Hermes'/Waninkoko's work, so I doubt installing Hermes might help. Actually I wouldn't recommend it since it's probably 12 years old if not more.

You speak spanish? If so, I can direct you to a pretty much dead site with detailed information about Hermes/Waninkoko and d2x in case you have doubts about old cIOS.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mattotk

Mattotk

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 5, 2022
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Montevideo
XP
180
Country
Uruguay
Yeah I'm from Uruguay, I just read two more posts about this game not running at 480p, one from this site, the other from game faq, it seems it won't support 480p, which is weird.
 

JuanMena

90's Kid, Old Skull Gamer & Artist
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2019
Messages
5,096
Trophies
2
Age
30
Location
the 90's 💙
XP
11,112
Country
Mexico
Yeah I'm from Uruguay, I just read two more posts about this game not running at 480p, one from this site, the other from game faq, it seems it won't support 480p, which is weird.
Yeah, old games are rarely compatible with 480p.
More info about cIOS in spanish:

Hermes: https://wii.scenebeta.com/noticia/cios-de-hermes

Waninkoko: https://wii.scenebeta.com/noticia/cios-de-waninkoko

d2X: https://wii.scenebeta.com/noticia/d2x-cios-installer

Scenebeta is prett much dead nowadays... but the information there is somewhat relevant.
The site is safe, and if you need to download something from there you have to be registered. Don't worry, been using that site (Scenebeta) for more than a decade... 14 years to be precise.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mattotk

Mattotk

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 5, 2022
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Montevideo
XP
180
Country
Uruguay
Yeah, old games are rarely compatible with 480p.
More info about cIOS in spanish:

Hermes: https://wii.scenebeta.com/noticia/cios-de-hermes

Waninkoko: https://wii.scenebeta.com/noticia/cios-de-waninkoko

d2X: https://wii.scenebeta.com/noticia/d2x-cios-installer

Scenebeta is prett much dead nowadays... but the information there is somewhat relevant.
The site is safe, and if you need to download something from there you have to be registered. Don't worry, been using that site (Scenebeta) for more than a decade... 14 years to be precise.
Thanks for the help
Post automatically merged:

Hey I found a workaround, the crash that happens when exiting a game that is running at 576i in my ntsc console is gone after changing the config file of CFG Usb Loader, instead of returning to Main Menu I set it to return to the Loader and it now changes to 480p and returns safely.

I have no idea about why returning to Main menu causes the crash when playing at 576i, but well, just wanted to let you know.

@XFlak @CoolMe @godreborn @JuanBaNaNa

Thanks again.
 
Last edited by Mattotk,
  • Like
Reactions: JuanMena

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "No points for grazing him, that's just amateur hour."
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Some are saying the kid was paid off by a online terror group or whatever
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Disturbed young man."
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Iranian sleeper agent."
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "False flag."
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I don't get people that make these attempts knowing they'll die just go in balls deep kamikaze style
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Too many meat shields in the way, sniping from a high vantage point is the only way.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    But it was ar15 iirc
  • Veho @ Veho:
    AR-15, effective range 500 yards, and the guy was at 150 yards from Trump.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Still missed
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Skill issue.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Take the L. :tpi:
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Wouldn't be the first time Trump got red skeeted on his face
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I was reading the kid failed shooting classes left and right imagine if it was a pissed off marine
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Or a pissed-on marine.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    There will be other rallies.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    The story of how a new born took aim at trump
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    How could the secret service see this coming
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Doesn't the baby have the right to bear arms?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Raised by bears grew claws
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I choose bear.
  • Tofu_mommy @ Tofu_mommy:
    is there a way to hide my country? I can't find an option to do so.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Set it to the South Pole or something.
    Veho @ Veho: Set it to the South Pole or something.