Hardware Question about transferring from one rgh to another, both Fat

Jayinem81

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
958
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
901
Country
United States
I have an RGH Jasper and it works but lightning hit it a few years ago and knocked out the HDMI and the boot time is 2 minutes due to how it was modded. So I have another Jasper that someone is RGHing for me that should have instant boot times and with HDMI. My question is simply can I plug the hard drive (internal, not external) from the old one to the new one and the files will be there, or will it make me format since it's a different console? I don't want to lose my setup and saves.

thanks
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
I have an RGH Jasper and it works but lightning hit it a few years ago and knocked out the HDMI and the boot time is 2 minutes due to how it was modded. So I have another Jasper that someone is RGHing for me that should have instant boot times and with HDMI. My question is simply can I plug the hard drive (internal, not external) from the old one to the new one and the files will be there, or will it make me format since it's a different console? I don't want to lose my setup and saves.

thanks

Jtag and RGH internal drives are swapable - Same with old Xbox classic.

Im actually cloning a 3TB now for xbox on a cloning station for another xbox.
 

brickmii82

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2015
Messages
1,359
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
2,456
Country
United States
Yep. As long as the HDD didnt get fried itll work exactly the same as you remember. No formatting required, just plug and play.
 

Jayinem81

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
958
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
901
Country
United States
Yeah the hard drive is fine the lightning strike happened 2-3 years ago and everything works except the HDMI hasn't worked since it happened, just got tired of slow boot times (that was unrelated to the lightning, it was just modded wrong I guess)
 

DinohScene

Gay boy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,442
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
17,072
Country
Antarctica
Jtag and RGH internal drives are swapable - Same with old Xbox classic.

Im actually cloning a 3TB now for xbox on a cloning station for another xbox.

Yep. As long as the HDD didnt get fried itll work exactly the same as you remember. No formatting required, just plug and play.

This.
Except the original Xbox has a HDDkey which has to match the board.
Modchips and TSOP flashed xboxes accept zero'd out and unlocked drives.
 

brickmii82

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2015
Messages
1,359
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
2,456
Country
United States
Its probably just an old hack. Phats were finicky before rgh 1.2, especially Jaspers.1.2 will be what your guy is doing, Im sure.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,690
Trophies
1
XP
12,785
Country
United States
they're swapable? I thought that the 360 would require the serial number of the system or is that only for formatting?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    N @ natedogwoof: i have twilight menu