Question about Swap Magic3

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by imgod22222, Apr 20, 2007.

Apr 20, 2007

Question about Swap Magic3 by imgod22222 at 2:02 AM (1,234 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. imgod22222
    OP

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    I just got my swap magic 3 discs. (YAY AND BOO!!) The discs were hanging loose a a slim dual dvd-box thing. And i flip them over. First, it looked like in the center, some dirt got in during the fabrication process. ANd second, if you've ever burned any sort of disc, you know that the burned data LOOKS differently that the part where theres no data. But strangely enough, this is present on a PRESSED disc, and they are in the forms of SEVERAL RINGS, all silver. wanted to know if thats normal. Also, every time i put in a disc it says "not a vaild ps2 disc." WTF does it mean by that?
     
  2. Gaisuto

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    The Swap Magic is very poorly made. Both I've ever gotten were scratched to hell just from regular use. However...if you just stay persistent and keep trying to reload the Swap Magic, it'll work eventually.
     
  3. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    Ive been using swap magic for....1+ year and ive been really really strict about keeping it clean. I used to use a boot disc for the old PS1 and it got scratched up within....10 uses? Its almost worth it at that point to get a chip.
     
  4. imgod22222
    OP

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    Umm.. ok. Swap Magic 3 is very poorly made. Now onto to rest of my question:

     
  5. Gaisuto

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    So you don't get the impression that I'm ignoring you, I really don't know about that part, sorry. I do know what you're talking about with the burned data looking different, but I don't know what to say with your situation...
     
  6. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Just a note the rings are suppose to be there. That's how Sony encrypts the data on the ps2 discs. That is why you can load Swap Magic on the ps2. First question is did you get two discs...that's how it use to come, a CD and a DVD version. The CD had troubles reading sometimes and would prompt the invalid disc every now and then. The DVD should load up properly.

    For the CD, you're going to have to have another program to load the game up. It's call DVDLoader and you'll need a game with high TOC.

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/182717

    This is as far as I can tell (I haven't use 3.6) the CD method is the only way to load DVD9 games (dual-layer).

    I still have my version 2.0 DVD disk that I usually just throw around the room, and it still works fine.
     
  7. imgod22222
    OP

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, thanks for answering about the rings part you guys.
    1) Yes,I did get both discs
    2) The DVD version and the CD version both give me an invalid disc error, even when i put in an original disc... but it eventually worked when i used an original disc (it was guitar hero, and i just clicked all the fret buttons on the guitar, and i don't know which buttons correlate to which buttons on the controller)
    3) Is DVDLoader like PS2 homebrew or something? I haven't had time to check out PS2 homebrew yet...
    4) What's "high TOC"?
    Thanks guys, sorry if i sound like i'm acting wierd/cruel.
    (i didn't mean to sound like i thot u were ignoring me gaisuto.)
     
  8. Gaisuto

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    I have my own question now. When I use the Swap Magic with Backups, some games just don't play properly (KH2: FM) while some do with very minimal problems (Narultimate Accel) and some play perfectly all the time (Orochi Musou.) These are all burned discs. Also when I use the Swap Magic, sometimes it won't even load the game after I swap it and press X. So that brings me to my next question.

    Using the Swap Magic with actual imported discs. Would the various problems still be there as if they were backups or would it play properly?
     
  9. imgod22222
    OP

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    Gaisuto, when you say this, are you talking about pressed, imported game discs? If so, i honestly have no clue, as i would never import a game since i now have a functional swap magic [​IMG]
     
  10. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Imported games have the problem of the PAL/NTSC restriction only. Some games will appear off the screen, etc. Although there is suppose to be a switcher of sorts in Swap Magic, it didn't work for me when I tried it out with a PAL version of Dragon Quest VIII. So, if you're talking about Japanese imports, it should work just fine since that is also in NTSC.

    KH2 appears to be a dvd9 game, which as I pointed out earlier is not compatible with Swap Magic unless you use the DVD Loader program, which is a homebrew application to allow you to run dual layer games. The DVD Loader will mean that you'd have to use the CD version of SM and then swap in an actual high TOC game (I believe TOC has to do with actual information on the disk, and basically corrects the laser to be able to read the dual layer properly). You can use say a game like MGS3, which I believe is a high TOC game.
     
  11. endgame

    Newcomer endgame Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Southern Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, TOC stands for Table of Contents....so high TOC means a game with a large amount of data on it, filesize-wise.

    For whatever reason, if you need to know what games have what size TOC, you can probably google it and find a good list, but I'll help ya out a little [​IMG]

    I'm not sure what region you're in, so here are just a few, biggest to smallest:

    DVD-9 (Dual-Layer)
    8.02GB PAL Champions of Norrath
    7.94GB JAP GRAN TURISMO Concept (Traditional Chinese Version) SCPS55903
    7.94GB JAP Xenosaga
    7.94GB USA God of War 2 (8,533,671,936 bytes)
    7.93GB USA God of War (SCUS 97399 - 8,522,792,960 bytes)
    7.88GB USA Xenosaga Episode I: Der Wille zur Macht (SLUS 20469 - 8,468,299,776 bytes)
    7.80GB PAL God of War 2 (8,383,463,424 bytes)
    7.74GB USA Champions of Norrath (SLUS 20565 - 8,319,303,680 bytes)
    7.55GB USA The Guy Game (SLUS 21074 - 8,113,094,656 bytes)
    7.20GB JAP Sakura Wars Atsuki Chishiyo Ni

    DVD-5
    4.37GB USA Street Fighter Alpha Anthology
    4.37GB PAL TOCA Race Driver 3 (SLES 53087 - 4,697,882,624 bytes)
    4.37GB JAP Shin Onimusha - Dawn of Dreams Disc 1 (4,695,162,880)
    4.37GB JAP Shin Onimusha - Dawn of Dreams Disc 2 (4,695,162,880)
    4.37GB USA Marvel Nemesis: Rise of the Imperfects
    4.37GB USA Fifa Street
    4.37GB USA Devil May Cry (SLUS 20216 - 4,698,767,360 bytes)
    4.37GB USA Resident Evil Outbreak (SLUS 20765 - 4,698,767,360 bytes)
    4.37GB USA Sonic Heroes (SLUS 20718 - 4,698,767,360 bytes)
    4.37GB PAL SSX On Tour
    4.37GB USA FIFA Soccer 2005 (SLUS 21051 - 4,698,734,592 bytes)
    4.37GB PAL FIFA 06
    4.37GB USA NBA Street V3 (SLUS 21126 - 4,698,701,824 bytes)
    4.37GB PAL NBA Street V3
    4.37GB USA Star Wars: Battlefront (SLUS 20898 - 4,697,260,032 bytes)
     

Share This Page