Question about Slot-1 carts and GBA playability

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by pika3000, Sep 25, 2006.

Sep 25, 2006
  1. pika3000
    OP

    Member pika3000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Magog World Ship
    Country:
    United States
    Will Slot-1 carts ever be able to play GBA games
     
  2. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    I read from many experienced users on several other forums that it will never happen because the DS doesn't have the hardware to run code for the GBA from the slot 1.
    I think that the GBA has to be phisically directly connected to the roms and chips on the cartridge in order to work. Because it has to be able to access all the memory randomly at any time, therefore you cannot just put the roms on a cart in the slot 1 and load it at once in the GBA memory , because there is not even enough memory to beguin with.
     
  3. slvrdrgn123

    Member slvrdrgn123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    Posted in the wrong thread, sorry. [​IMG]
     
  4. FifthE1ement

    Member FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    No, GBA will never be able to run through Slot 1 devices unless an emulator is created.

    FifthE1ement [​IMG]
     
  5. pika3000
    OP

    Member pika3000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Magog World Ship
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you both for answering my question. [​IMG]
     
  6. neojei

    Member neojei GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    Could an emulator work on the DS? I've read from posts emulation takes a lot of power to do.
     
  7. ultrablade

    Newcomer ultrablade Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, and there are already some, like SNESDS, but in this case, it's ran as a gba rom anyhow... it's a conversion, and there are some SNES emulators that can run SNES files directly without conversion. For the most part, emulation can be basically done by converting the system you want to emulate game into GBA format.

    ultrablade
     

Share This Page