question about putting firmware with no pandora ?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by miss_DSlite, Jun 12, 2010.

  1. miss_DSlite
    OP

    Member miss_DSlite GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    new york
    Country:
    United States
    a friend told me he hacked his 1000 series with just no battery how is this possible did he only use memory card?

    if any 1 can answer me please i appreciate it .
     
  2. 67birdman

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    You can put chickHEN on it, and then flash it from there permanently.
    But I never used chickHEN, people say its a pain in the ass.
    Use your friends battery, he can make it for you through the recovery menu and use a magic memory stick to flash it.
     
  3. WoobiE

    Newcomer WoobiE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah you can. If he hasn't updated the PSP's official firmware above 5.03 then he can do it with out a pandora battery.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, a sticky here shows you how to run ChickHEN to temporarily enable homebrew, and then run hellcat's recovery flasher to actually replace the firmware. It's the method I used for my slim, since my PSP arrived before my pandora battery, and I found the PSP still had a 3.x firmware. It needs 5.03 or below, as said, and you can just follow the sticky.

    The problem is getting ChickHEN to work. Sometimes it works on the first or second try (as it did with my PSP), and sometimes it'll honestly take 50+ tries (as it did when i was doing a friend's PSP).
     
  5. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    in the old days we didnt use batteries. we use exploits. i personally used eloader to use a (very dangerous) downgrading app to 1.50 (i had 2.6) and installed m33 from there.

    but yeah, he could have used chickhen
     
  6. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,039
    Country:
    Australia
    Why not just use L.M.A.O? It works everytime and more quickly than ChickHEN/MHUSPEED
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That needs to be in the sticky, then. [​IMG]
     
  8. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    It doesn't work with 1000 AFAIK
     

Share This Page